Each Day Is A New Day

I have now officially been in Moscow, Russia for 1 week. However, this one week has been one very loooooong week! So much has happened, I hardly know where to begin. So maybe I’ll start by saying that I unsuccessfully attempted to post a blog of Stephanie and my apartment-including pictures. Like i said, it was unsuccessful. So instead I just posted an album on facebook, which includes not ONLY apartment pictures, but also ones of my excursions over this past week.

Saturday started off a great weekend for me. I went along with a small group of girls to a small town outside of Moscow. What was in this small town you ask?? Oooh, only the largest antique/flee market I have ever seen! It was incredible! It was all outdoors, and there was booth after booth lined up in rows. Now for any of you who love to get a good deal on old “junk” you’d be in heaven..as I was. Also, I might add how nice it was to get out of the city and see some sky!! This little adventure also made it so that I have now used all “safe” forms of transportation offered here in Moscow. We took the metro up to an electrishka (train) station, and road out from the city. So my list of transportation now includes: walking, metro, bus, electrishka, and mushootka. (I probably mispelled a couple of those, but hey, that’s my best shot at the Russian language for now, 😉

Saturday evening was topped off with a dinner/movie night with the Young Adult group. I met more great people at this little social event and had a great time eating, talking, and laughing!

Sunday brought another eventful day as we first attended a small church service with other Expats as well as some local Muscovites.  Church was proceeded by a trip to the Honey Festival which was held in a large, beautiful, and very natural park: Kolomenskaya.  This involved way too much honey tasting! We definitely got our sweet tooth fix for the day! There was booth after booth of honey venders, giving their free samples and selling honey in bulk, as well as honeycomb.  After our bellies could handle no more honey, we strolled through the park, taking in the beautiful flower beds and openness. It was so refreshing to get out of downtown Moscow, breath fresh air, and have a view other than cars!

When we finally arrived home, our feet ached and our legs were tired. But little did I know, there was more excitement to come…

After a short rest, Stephanie and I ventured up to our favorite McDonalds to gain internet access. When we returned to our apartment and climbed the dreadful 5 flights of stairs, we were delightfully greeted by our neighbors!  It caught both of us off guard as we were greeted in English, but we introduced ourselves and struck up conversation. It didn’t take long to realize that our new neighbors are extremely friendly and excited that we are Americans.  They quickly invited us to have tea throughout the week as they will help us learn Russian, and we will help them improve their English.  They also proved to us that Muscovites are very hospitable as they gave us a bag of freshly picked plums from their dacha (summer home), where they were returning from.

It was such a blessing to have this little encounter and to have met our first Russian friends. We look forward to tea and swapping language lessons, as well as getting to know this couple better.

And now, the weekend is over, and school has begun. Today was our first day in the school as teachers. We met our teaching team, and I am thankful that I have a very friendly and welcoming group of Russian teachers to work with. Three out of the 4 speak English, which is also a blessing, and will help make this transition smoother.  I am still a little overwhelmed as I try to grasp what my expectations are as a teacher, and how everything will work out once the students arrive. But for now I will take one day at a time and prepare as well as I can. The kids come Thursday, and then the real test will be in session!

I just have to remind myself that each day is a new day, 🙂

2 thoughts on “Each Day Is A New Day

  1. Thanks for the update! I bet it was a VERY long week. It sounds like you are doing great, though. We pray for you all the time, and we know God is going to use this experience to do some amazing things in your life and in the lives of others. Can’t wait to hear about the many adventures yet to come! Love you.

Leave a Reply

