Not a Typical Day

Today was not a typical day at MES. Rest assured, I mean this in a very good way. To make it even better, I didn’t have any lessons to teach, so I got to sit back and enjoy it all, ๐Ÿ™‚

For starters, I got to watch part of Hercules-the Disney Film- with the students. Of course it was in Russian, so I couldn’t understand what was being said. However, since I am familiar with the film, I was able to follow the story-line fairly easily. This only took place during our first lesson. We then ate breakfast and loaded up on a bus for an excursion to the Historical Museum.

As we were driving along in the bus, I was so happy to recognize the surroundings. Before long, I could see Red Square in the near distance. I thought to myself how cool it was that I had JUST been there last weekend. Soon we came to a stop, and low-and-behold, we were AT Red Square. It suddenly hit me, we weren’t just going to any ole historic museum, we were going to THE Historic Museum of Moscow..IN Red Square!! I secretly got extremely excited about the fact that I had just been at this exact place. I was also thankful that I had previously visited Red Square, saving my first experience from being brief and shared with rowdy 10 year-olds!!!

proof that I don’t exaggerate when I say ‘rowdy’. Maybe I’m actually UNDER exaggerating.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Okay, now let me switch gears and be a little more serious…

We have been studying ancient times and civilization, and while I don’t agree with all that is being taught (humans evolving from apes), I thought it was a great opportunity for the students to be able to go to a museum to further learn about and see artifacts relating to their school studies.

All in all, it was a fun little outing, and I think (hope) the kids enjoyed it, too!

Once we returned from school, I had tea with my co-teachers. We visited, ate tasty treats, and sipped our tea. The rest of the afternoon was ย filled with ‘extra’ lessons, leaving our classroom empty and quiet. So we discussed future lesson plans and watched YouTube videos of anย Olympicย gymnast. (Stay tuned for a post in the near future pertaining to this said gymnast.) To end the school day on an even better note, I got to leave early-at 4 instead of 5!!

Now, Stephanie and I are hanging out in our apartment with our landlady, waiting for the repair man to arrive and fix our wash machine. ย Clean clothes are soon to come!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Not a Typical Day

Leave a Reply

