“Zee sky eez blue, and zee sun eez shining brightly!”

Yes, I am at school right now.
No, I did not have any lessons to teach today.
So why not post a blog instead? 🙂

The past week or so has continued to get cooler and cooler..as well as cloudy and damp. In fact, I have officially seen my first Russian snow! Can winter really be creeping in this soon??
We had a Young Adults retreat in a nearby town called Snigeri.  It was such a wonderful break form the city, and a great time of fellowship with friends and focus on our Heavenly Father. Not to mention that the trees were in full Autumn splendor. It was absolutely beautiful, and the sight of the snow falling Saturday morning was lovely and peaceful. (Yet, I am thankful it did not stick and was short-lived).

This week started off a little rough for me. The combination of not enough sleep over the weekend, a little home-sickness, frustrating dilemmas while trying to order my ticket home for Christmas, and once again, cloudy skies,  resulted a ‘blah’ Monday.  Thankfully my day got better as I met with one of my student’s and his mother for a tutoring session after school.  Their eagerness to improve their English is encouraging, and the mother is especially sweet. I really enjoyed her company and look forward to continuing tutoring her and hopefully building a sweet friendship between us.

The positive improvement to my week is continuing to grow. I know it is only Tuesday, but I don’t think I could take another day like yesterday and finish this week with sanity.  Therefore, I am beyond thankful for the upturn.  Along with the cooler temps also comes a later rising sun. Therefore, I walk to school each day while it is still partially dark. But I couldn’t help but smile early in the day when Vladimir (my teacher who speaks about as much English as I speak Russian–which is NOT much at all..but slowly improving) walked in the class bright and cheery proclaiming,

“Zee sky eez blue, and zee sun eez shining brightly!”

 I turned to look out the window and sure enough…clear blue skies with a brightly shining sun. Praise the Lord! The sun has continued to shine, brightening my day! I can’t wait to get out of this school building, take a walk outside, and soak up some Vitamin D.

I look forward to meeting tonight with our YA’s group for an evening of praise and worship. And I am positive this week will continue to get better each and every day. Although the sun may not shine every day here in Moscow, I know the SON is always present wherever I am, whatever I am doing…and for that I am forever grateful!

Hebrews 13:5  “…be content with what you have, because God has said,  ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’”

Leave a Reply

