“Judge each day, not by the harvest, but by the seeds you plant.”

It is officially Fall break!! This means no school until November 7. Sadly I have no travel plans due to some slow processing of my VISA. Nonetheless I am looking forward to sleeping in, relaxing, and spending time with friends here in Moscow, as well as a little site-seeing around the city.

I can’t believe how quickly time has passed. I feel like it was only last week that I moved here, and sometimes I still find myself saying, “I can’t believe I’m really in Moscow, Russia!” Our first term of school is over, and once we return, it’ll only be 6 weeks until I hop on the plane to head home for Christmas.

These past couple weeks have become busier at school as we have been wrapping up our theme of Ancient Egypt and preparing final projects for the ‘Autumn Exhibition’.  I’m loving my kids more and more each day and am cherishing the relationships that are blossoming between them and me. It makes my day when the girls come up to give me a big hug, or the boys ask me to play ping-pong with them during break. Now don’t get me wrong, I still have those certain ones who give me problems during the lessons, but overall, I am realizing how much I will miss them when I leave at the end of the year…and it’s only been 2 months!!

diligent preparation

This week, as we were wrapping up our theme, we split the kids up into groups to do a presentation integrating all our subjects. I got to work with our 4 best English speaking students. They had to complete all their tasks in English. I enjoyed feeling like I was actually ‘teaching’ and I was extremely proud of their effort and successful presentation about hieroglyphics.

My English presenters: Ruslan, Nastia, Dasha, and Igor

I have started tutoring one of my students and his mother twice a week. They both have pretty good English, but wanted some extra practice so they can speak faster and more fluently. I’ve enjoyed getting to know them and spend a couple hours a week simply visiting with them over coffee and soup! They are so eager to learn more and I am already seeing progress after only a couple of weeks!

Aside from school, life in Moscow goes on. I am continuing to feel more and more settled here in Moscow and enjoy filling my weekends with outings with friends. This past Sunday a few of us girls decided to check out the Hillsong Church here in Moscow.  It is a Russian church..all the singing and sermon in Russian. However, the songs we sang were familiar and they also had the words printed in English. It was such a blessing to get to worship with Russians..each in our native tongue, yet singing the exact same thing to the one and only God. A young girl interpreted for us during the message so we were able to get the gist of what was being said–talking about loving our ‘brother’ as Christ loves us.  I loved this opportunity of seeing a group of Russians who had a light in their eyes and such a passion for Christ. It is not something that is commonly seen throughout this cold, solemn city.  I was encouraged and rejuvenated from this wonderful morning of worship.

I am slowly picking up a few more Russian words and short phrases, but I would have to say that my bigger accomplishment is the fact that I finally, after 2 months, know the alphabet and can read signs. ..Still pretty slow at it, but I can read nonetheless, 🙂

I suppose I will now begin my Fall Holiday by spending the evening with some friends. Happy Friday to you all, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

