The Down and Dirty

Just a basic post today..I thought I’d just give a quicky run-down of what’s been going on as of late. As an overview, the past few days have been filled with a little glitz, teenagers, fellowship…and the not-so-pretty: stress, failed lessons, pain-in-the-butt students, and a longing for the 17th of December!!

So on Saturday I, along with a handful of other gals, helped out our friend, Lindsey, with a charity event/gala which was held at the Ritz Carlton here in Moscow. We started early afternoon setting tables up for auctions, raffles, registration, and the banquet.

Some of the help: Lydia, Lindsey, Kristin, Sarah, Me, Amber, Irina

Once things were ready (with little time to spare) we all got dolled up and ‘ran the show’…registering the guests, selling raffle tickets, ‘gaurding’ the silent auction items, directing guests to their tables..and sipping on coctails! The event was a success, much money was raised, and it was certainly something I have never experienced before. The night ended with an open dance floor in which some of us girls snuck out to once our ‘duties’ were fulfilled.

taking a break in between tasks: Irina, Lydia, Kristin, Sarah, and Amber
loved the excuse to get all dolled up, πŸ™‚

Sunday was our first day of youth group. Stephanie is leading the youth, along with the assistance of some of us ‘Young Adults’ in the church. So we hosted the youth at our flat directly after church. It was filled with much laughter, eating, ‘I have never’s’, and a short lesson based on 2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come!”Β  We had 7 youth attend (grades 6-12). I look forward to seeing what God has in store for this group and how He will use them to reach the lost of Moscow.

Monday I taught a craft lesson which was a complete success, and I was so proud of my students’ work. Be looking for a post to come soon about this project!! My drama lesson was a completely different story. We’re working on a production of “The Cat that Walked by Himself”. One group is learning the speaking parts, the other group is in charge of making the set and props, as well as doing some singing throughout. So Monday, I had the props group. Let’s just say the kids absolutely refused to work, and the ones that did produced scribbles, NOT the forest and cave backdrop as was assigned. I had put the picture up on the projector so they could trace it onto our cloth, but this was apparantly still too much for this particular group to handle. I was very frustrated, but am so thankful for the support of my co-teachers, who gave a nice lecture to the students about listening and following directions. Needless to say, I am only hoping we can somehow produce a backdrop and props by December sixteenth’s production!

Tuesday was a much more enjoyable day as I did not have any lessons to teach. And of course we had YAs in the evening, which I always look forward to and am continuously thankful for the fellowship.

So now we are caught up to today. I had my second group in Drama, in which we rehearsed a couple of our scenes. It is slowly coming along, if only the kids would memorize their parts!!! I’m afraid they have a case of bad attitudes and laziness.Β  Once again, I’m hoping and praying this all comes together in the next 4.5 weeks!!! Β (I just finished taking the liberty to draw the backdrop myself so that it’ll be ready for the kids to paint when I have them again on Monday. I’ll let you know how that goes, πŸ˜‰ )

As you can tell, while I am enjoying my time here in Moscow, and growing so much through the experience, I definitely have ‘those days‘ where things just aren’t looking so pretty!

Wishing you all a wonderful Wednesday, and sending you my love from Russia!!!

3 thoughts on “The Down and Dirty

  1. You thought you were just going to have to draw the backdropp…then it ended up back in our liviing room…who knew kids were so crazy… πŸ™‚ We did thats why we took the teaching life, cause we fit in with them.

Leave a Reply

