The hills are alive, with the sound of music….

Soon after I moved here to Moscow, I started seeing billboards advertising a Russian production of Звукu музыкu (The Sound of Music). Those of you who don’t know, this is my all time favorite musical. So some of us decided that we HAD to see it. Last night happened to be the night. I must say, I was not in the least bit disappointed.

The cast was phenomenal, and their voices were beautiful.  Although it was in Russian, I was able to follow along very well between the small selection of Russian words I know and the fact that I practically have the movie memorized. Not gonna lie, I sang along with many of the songs..in English of course, 😉

the hills are alive…with the sound of music..

Now I’ve never seen the actual musical before, only the movie version, so I’m not sure how it would compare. A few scenes were obviously shortened and merged, as well as some songs in a slightly different order. Oh, and a couple of minor scenes added. But overall, (despite the delayed start due to technical difficulties) it was an excellent production and I absolutely loved it!!

Oh, and I might have snuck a few videos throughout, too, that you can find on my Facebook page, 🙂

While I do miss the calm, quiet, peaceful country life, I am appreciating and taking full advantage of the big city perks and entertainment offered. It’s all within an arms reach, so why not??

One thought on “The hills are alive, with the sound of music….

Leave a Reply

