Snow Capped Stillness

Well, I am back, and round two is underway. I had a marvelous time at home-with my family and a few days with Tommy’s family.  Plenty of relaxation and mama’s good cookin’! But now it’s back to crafts and drama in the Russian world.

Coming back was a little easier than my first arrival, simply because I know a little better what to expect as far as school and life, and I have friends here to welcome me back. However, leaving was not still easy. I’m coming to the conclusion that leaving family and friends will never get any easier. I just love them all so much! But I suppose ‘leaving’ often comes in the same package as ‘being an adult’.

My flights went smoothly, and I managed to get some sleep. However, jet lag still wanted to be my companion. I think I’m finally beginning to recover and feel slightly more adjusted. I’m thankful we didn’t start school until Tuesday, giving me a day to recover before everything got crazy again. (I got into Moscow Sunday afternoon.)  Another bonus was the fact that only half my students were at school on Tuesday, and I didn’t have any lessons to teach. Perfect way to transition back in if you ask me. 🙂

When my plane landed, I looked out the window and was slightly disappointed to see such a small amount of snow on the ground. After the massive amount that began to fall here the day I returned to the states, I was expecting a beautiful winter wonderland. But I guess 40 degree weather and snow don’t get along too well.  God must have sympathized to my disappointment, because I woke up Monday to a beautiful blanket of snow.

Often life here in Moscow is so rushed and chaotic. Everyone is in a hurry to get where they are going, and stress is sensed all around. However, along with the snow, a sense of calmness seems to have overtaken the city. This change reminds me of the difference I find in the Lord. No matter how chaotic the circumstances of my life may seem, I can always find peace and comfort-a calmness-when I turn to God and let Him carry my load.

In the quiet, in the stillness
I know that You are God
In the secret of Your presence
I know there I am restored

In the chaos, in confusion
I know You’re Sovereign still
In the moment of my weakness
You give me grace to do Your will.

lyrics from “None But Jesus” -Hillsong

One thought on “Snow Capped Stillness

Leave a Reply

