Hockey Sticks and Puppet Shows

A lot of you probably don’t know this about me, but I love a good game of hockey. I haven’t been to a lot, and I’ve only watched a handful on TV with my dad, but I do enjoy it-especially when it’s a close game with much intensity.

Hockey is pretty big here in Russia so a few of my friends and I decided we should hit up a game.Β  After a little research on dates and locations of upcoming matches, we settled on going last Saturday to watch a Moscow team, Dynamo.Β  They played another Russian team and won easily, which unfortunately meant it was not very intense. However, we had great seats and I still enjoyed going.Β  The talk is to go to another before the season ends, so I’m hoping it’ll be a little more competetive match-up.

Me, Amber, and Steph at the hockey game

As far as other life here in Moscow…It’s been extremely cold (-25 C at times) but sunny and mostly dry. There’s a good amount of snow accumulated on the ground from earlier last month, but we haven’t received much fresh snow recently.

I’ve had a mental list of ‘winter activities’ I’ve wanted to do here. After ice skating a couple weekends ago and hitting up the hockey match last weekend, I still have an afternoon of cross-country skiing to check off the list. Of course I plan to return to the ice skating rinks and as mentioned before, I wouldn’t mind another hockey game.

My kids grow sweeter every day (or, most days, πŸ˜‰ ).Β  They keep me on my toes while finding simple ways to make me laugh multiple times a day. I look forward to the sweet hugs from a few of my girls, and have currently enjoyed making puppets with them for our puppet shows.Β  Another production- “The Little Prince” -will start up after Spring break in March, and I’m feeling more confident about it now that I have one under my belt.

Masha, Nikita, and Sonya with their puppets

I’m so thankful God has given me this opportunity to teach here, and I look forward to seeing where He takes me next year.

Leave a Reply

