the BIG 5-0!! {to my dear, sweet mother}

I want to just start by saying that I have the best mom a girl could ever have. Not only is she the best mom, she’s my best friend.

Growing up as the only girl among 3 brothers, there were many days I wished for a sister. But as I got older I became more and more thankful to be the one and only daughter.  I look back on countless memories with my mom that I would have never had if they were shared with a sister–shopping weekends, tea parties, girl talk, days filled with baking, singing together, attempting to pound out duets on the piano, failed attempts at zumba or aerobics because we got to giggling too hard, early morning walks, crafting and sewing, women’s conferences, and too many skype dates to count. We’ve shared laughter, tears, embarrassing stories, dreams for the future, and prayers. And this is only the beginning of the list.

my first horse ride

My mom is my biggest encourager, advice giver, prayer warrior, and has always been there for me (even when I thought I didn’t need her).  I admire her faith and desire to reach out and minister to others, especially teenage girls.  I see her love and devotion to me and the rest of our family, and the way she puts God first in her life and isn’t afraid to show it.  I hope I can carry over the virtues and values she’s instilled in me to a family of my own someday.

Today I am sad that I can not be with my mom to celebrate this special day with her. But I am so thankful that despite the miles between us, our friendship and mother-daughter relationship continues to grow.

Happy 5oth Birthday, Mom! 

I love you!!!

-Your One and Only Daughter

Philippians 1:3-4

“I thank my God in all my remembrances of you,

always in every prayer of mine.”

2 thoughts on “the BIG 5-0!! {to my dear, sweet mother}

  1. What a wonderful tribute to your mother. Makes me think of my own mom I always hoped I’d be like her when I got to be her age — I must not be old enough yet, because I STILL do not have her sweet spirit and attributes. : (

Leave a Reply

