Lessons in Life

The past week and a half have been filled with adventures and bliss. The more I spend time and make memories with my friends here in Moscow, the more I realize just how much I’ll miss them and this city once I return to the States.

It started the otherweekend with Indian food and ice skating, as I mentioned in my last post. The Indian restaraunt was on the 15th floor of a building in which the entire wall was windows. The view was incredible despite the cloudy day.

Then we headed on to Gorky Park where we took a small photo shoot, as well as enjoyed an evening ice skating.

Me, Nataly, Chris, Steph, Amber, Jen, Andrew- skating at Gorky

This past Thursday, we celebrated the Russian holiday, Men’s Day: Defenders of our Motherland. It’s kind of a mix between Father’s day and Veteran’s day. Regardless, this holiday meant we had no school!! Therefore, many of us American teachers and a couple men from our YAs group spent the day XC skiing and watching a ‘manly’ movie. I absolutely loved XC skiing (this was my first time to do any kind of snow skiing.)

Seth, Me, Amber, Jen, Stephanie, Sarah, Brian- XC skiing on Men’s Day

After finishing the school week on Friday, our weekend opened up into more adventures and celebrations.  Both Stephanie and Sarah had a birthday on Saturday, so a group of us went to Cirque de Soleil. This show was incredible! I sat in awe, with sweaty palms as the gymanist flew from bar to bar, flipped, and performed their brave, talented acts. We finished off the evening and celebration with Enchiladas, cakes, and games.

As I mentioned previously, I absolutely loved cross country skiing. Sunday was a beautiful day-around 30 F with soft, beautiful white snow falling. So Amber and I decided to head back to the park/forest toward the outter part of town and hit up some trails once again.  We decided to branch out and try a random trail, which ended up winding us all through the forest and somehow end back up where we started. It was a wonderful 2.5 hours of exercise in the beautiful winter wonderland. I enjoyed the fresh air and deserted trails.

These recent outtings have not only been fun adventures, but life lessons and reminders to me as well.  For example, (and I have to give credit to Amber on this one) while we were skiing, it didn’t take us long to realize how much easier it was if we stayed in the tracks that were already made. This is also the case when we are living in God’s will-following the plan he has for us, and letting him pave the road and be in control. Things work out, they go smoother. But sometimes we want to ‘step out of the tracks’ and explore. However, it doesn’t take much for us to lose traction and fall, and we soon find ourselves crawling back to where we should be. I was once again reminded of the importance of our trust in the Lord as I sat nervously through Cirque de Soleil.  As the trapeze artists swung through the air, flying from one person to the next I admired the amount of trust they had. They all had to be in sync with each other to get their catches and passes perfectly so as to not drop anyone.  There could be no hesitation from a single acrobat, or it’d throw the entire routine off.  It’s easy to get distracted in life or hesitate with our response in a situation, but we must let go of our pride, and trust in the fact that our Saviour is going to catch us and carry us through.  Only with His strength, his perfect timing, can we be successful.

These are a couple of things I’ve been especially reminding myself of lately as there are so many unknows right now with my future post-Russia.  But I’m putting it in God’s hands-letting go and allowing Him to be in control.  I know I can trust His plans and that He’ll carry me through.

Psalm 46:1-2

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.  Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Lessons in Life

Leave a Reply

