A Week to Remember..

Last week was Spring Break-the great part about being a teacher is I still get all the holidays as I did when I was a student! ๐Ÿ™‚ When I was home at Christmas, I planned a spring break vacation with my parents, Tommy, and younger brother, so for the past couple of months, I had been anticipating this week.

just in Vienna-taking the train from the airport to our hotel.

We met up on Saturday evening in Vienna after a missed flight, and lost luggage. Thankfully it all showed up in the next couple of days and we were able to thoroughly enjoy our vacation and each others’ company. After a couple days of sightseeing in Vienna (the Imperial Gardens, Schonbrunn Palace, window shopping and patio dining in the city center, and a couple museums) we caught a train down to Salzburg.

Schonbrunn Palace
Dad, Mom, and Lance enjoying our delightful patio dining in the city center of Vienna.

The main activity in Salzburg included a bus tour of the Sound of Music. This was absolutely beautiful and so fun to see the different building, gardens, ponds, etc that the musical was filmed. Our tour guide was hilarious, making the tour all the more enjoyable. We had opportunity to get out at many of the sights and take photos as well as venture out of town to the mountain and lakes region.

OH AUSTRIA….so so so beautiful. It was incredible to see God’s magnificant creation, not to mention taste the scrumptious cheese strudels, ๐Ÿ˜‰ Aside from the tour, our days consisted of venturing around town, shopping in Old Town Salzburg, a day trip to the Mathausen Concentration Camp, and a day of hiking for the guys.

Mirabell Gardens in Salzburg. A film scene in “The Sound of Music”

on the river at dusk in Salzburg

The weather was gorgeous and sunny. Such a breath of fresh air and so so thankful I got to meet some of my family there.

at Vienna airport before we all headed home.

OH! And did I mention…I GOT ENGAGED!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

absolutely love it! Tommy did quite well, if I do say so myself, ๐Ÿ™‚
so happy to be his fiance, ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday night in Vienna, Tommy and I took a stroll along the Danube Canal (not far from our hotel). As we walked and talked and eventually found a bench to sit on, I soon found myself with this handsome fella on one knee asking if I would be his wife. I gladly accepted, and immediately could not stop smiling. It definitely made this trip all the more special, as we got to enjoy the week in Austria as fiances! We also enjoyed having my mom take our engagement pictures throughout the week in the beautfiul landscapes and venues that Vienna and Salzburg provided. It will forever be a special week to remember and a location that we will have to visit again someday.

Now that I am back in Russia (surrounded by snow and barely-above-freezing temperatures-although everyone keeps telling me it’s Spring here..) we are working hard on “The Little Prince” play and back in full swing with school in general.ย  With only 2 months left here in Russia, I look forward to my return home and to be with my family and fiance, but am also cherishing these last moments with my students and friends here in Moscow.

Moscow’s ‘welcome home!’
2 thoughts on “A Week to Remember..

  1. some of the most beautiful pictures I’ve ever seen! Are you sure you didn’t cheat and just take pictures of postcards? lol I cried when I read the part about Tommy on his knee….awwww… Isn’t he just so sweet?

    1. haha-Yes! we couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful location! I was just in awe the whole week at it’s majesty and beauty. God is an awesome Creator we serve!!
      And yes, Tommy is absolutely sweet. So thankful and blessed to have him in my life, ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

