From Flop to Fab

I’ve been home for a week and a half now, and I must say…it is quite nice!! I’m enjoying the emptiness, fresh air, sunshine, and having full access to a large kitchen with familiar ingredients and items filling the pantry and fridge!  If you know me, you won’t be surprised to hear that it didn’t take me long at all to start cooking and baking again.

My fiance’ is coming tomorrow, which offered me a perfect excuse to do some extra baking!  He loves zucchini bread and we certainly have a plethora of zucchini in the freezer from last year.  So of course I decided to bake up a couple loaves to surprise him with. Unfortunately, they didn’t exactly turn out. Taste-wise…they were perfect. Appearance-wise…well, the middle kiiiiinda caved in. It could be because I over mixed a bit…but I prefer to blame it on the random humidity and high temperatures today!! 😉

Anyway, I take pride in the appearance of my baked goods, so I didn’t exactly want to serve a concave loaf of bread. But I also wasn’t about to waste it! So after a little brainstorming I decided to go with a cake-ball route. Now, I’m not exactly a fan of cake balls, but these were something else!

Disclaimer: These are not meant for anyone on a crazy health kick!!! But I give you special permission to make a batch of these today and indulge anyway. I won’t tell anyone, I promise!  🙂

Recipe:

Chocolate Zucchini Cream Cheese Balls

2 1/2 cups of crumbled Zucchini Bread

1 cup cream cheese (softened)

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (melted)

Mix crumbled zucchini bread and cream cheese until evenly mixed. Dough should be pretty sticky.  Chill the dough in the fridge for about an hour (until it’s not so sticky).  Roll dough into 1 inch balls and dip in chocolate.  Set on wax paper (I used foil because that’s all I had) and put back in fridge until chocolate has set. And please, try and resist the temptation to pop one in your mouth…or two..or four…

If you want to dress them up a little, drizzle some melted white chocolate on the top.

These will keep just fine for a couple months in the freezer {as long as you don’t eat them all first, 😉 }

2 thoughts on “From Flop to Fab

Leave a Reply

