Nutella Cheesecake

My fiance’ has been up here this past weekend. It’s the first we’ve seen each other since I returned home from Russia two weeks ago.  So you can imagine, we were definitely ready to see each other and have been enjoying each other’s company over the past few days.  We’ve been hashing out details of our upcoming wedding and meeting with people involved…seamstress, photographer, pastor, etc.  Oh but don’t worry, we’re not letting Wedding consume all our time!

The other day, as my dad was reading the Farm Journal, he came across a recipe for Nutella Cheesecake, and thought I might like to try it sometime! My reply was “Oooh! Does that mean you would like me to try it sometime, so that you can try it??”  Of course we all know the answer to that!! And so I agreed. 🙂

{How could I not? I mean, Nutella+Cheesecake+Oreo Crust…. HELLLLLOOOOO!??!}

So yesterday for lunch, Tommy and I grilled steak kabobs and cream cheese stuffed-jalapenos wrapped in bacon. Then we headed to town to catch the matinee showing of Brave —such a cute movie by the way! On our way home, we stopped by the store and picked up ingredients for Dad’s request.

I asked Tommy if he’d like to help me make the cake–not knowing what I was getting myself into–and he quickly agreed. So I put him to work, smashing the Oreos for the crust.

In the meantime, I combined the other ingredients…Until the unexpected happened…

….I guess this is what happens when trying to bake with the fiance’ 😉

Needless to say, we managed to call a truce fairly quickly and get the pie finished and put away in the freezer. Lunchtime today couldn’t come fast enough. But this cool, rich, creamy, refreshing treat was well worth the wait!!

Recipe:

Nutella Cheesecake

Crust:

12 Oreo Cookies (crushed)

2 Tablespoons butter (melted)

Crush Oreos and dump them into a pie pan.  Pour melted butter over-top and stir around with a fork until mixed well.  Press Oreo crumb-butter mixture into the bottom of the pie pan and on the sides to form the crust.  Set aside and mix the filling.

Filling:

1 8oz. package of cream cheese

2/3 cup Nutella

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

1 8 oz. tub whipped topping

In a large bowl, combine and mix the cream cheese, nutella, vanilla, and whipped topping.  Mix until ingredients are evenly blended.  Pour into the pie pan.  Freeze for about 2 hours before serving. Enjoy!

 

5 thoughts on “Nutella Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

