Peach Pie

My fiance and I have been at my parents’ this week-a last visit before I make my ‘official’ move down to Arkansas.  This means there was menu-planning involved and a list of foods we either wanted to make, eat, or both.  As I was thinking of specifics for the list, I realized I hadn’t made any pies yet this summer.  This is kinda a big deal since my two favorite things to bake are breads and PIES!  So in order to solve this problem, a Peach Pie was immediately added to the menu.  {Of course I had my dad and fiance in mind too, since they both looove pie!!}

In the fall, my mom always buys fresh Colorado Peaches by the box.  We always save some to eat fresh, but most of them either get canned or frozen.  We still have a couple of bags of frozen peaches so I used one for this delicious treat!  So quick, easy, and convenient! {duh}

So I mixed up the pie crust, rolled it out, filled it up, and got it all ready for the oven.

 I don’t believe in wasting pie crust.  So I like to sprinkle my scraps with cinnamon and sugar and bake them for about 5 minutes or so. It’s the perfect little snack to calm the mouth watering while the actual pie bakes, 😉

After I pulled this beauty out of the oven, I had to practice great self-control so I wouldn’t dig in right away.  I was very tempted to start lunch with dessert, but my mama always told me I had to have a happy plate before I could enjoy my dessert…and well…sometimes I still obey her, 😉

Recipe:

Peach Pie

Crust:

2 cups sifted flour

1 tsp. salt

2/3 cup shortening

5 to 7 Tbs cold water

Sift together flour and salt.  Cut in shortening with a pastry cutter or fork until mixture is in tiny pea-size pieces.  Add cold water 1 tablespoon at a time.  Mix with fork until all of mixture is moist and pressed together. Gather in hand and form into a ball.  Divide dough into two balls-one for bottom crust and top crust.  Roll out bottom crust on lightly floured surface. Place carefully in pie pan and gently press against bottom and sides.  Roll out second ball of dough and cut into about  1/2 to 3/4 inch wide strips.  After filling the pie, take strips of dough and lay across pie, alternating for a lattice crust.  Bake at 400 degrees F for 40-45 minutes.  Best served warm with a scoop of ice cream.

Filling:

1 qt. bag of frozen sliced peaches (thawed and drained)

1/4 cup sugar

3 Tbs flour

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Dash salt

Combine dry ingredients and sprinkle over peaches.  Stir together and dump into pie crust.

Leave a Reply

