Almond Streusel Banana Bread

What do you do with brown bananas??

Make banana bread!!!

At least that’s what I like to do, 🙂  I was feeling a little ‘creative’ this time though, so I decided to put a little spin on my basic banana bread recipe that my mom passed down to me.  Now don’t get me wrong, I love the basic banana bread recipe, but sometimes basic just isn’t enough.  So don’t be shy. Go on…make this today. I promise you’ll love it. {You can thank me later, ;)}

 

Recipe:

Almond Streusel Banana Bread

Bread:

1 cup flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 Tablespoons vegetable oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

3 bananas (mushed)

Streusel Topping:

1/3 cup sliced almonds

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup whole-wheat flour

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Pinch of salt

Combine all ingredients. Mix together until crumbly.

Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease the bottom only of loaf pan (9x5x3 or 2 81/2×4 1/2×2 1/2).  Mix ALL bread ingredients; beat for 30 seconds.  Pour into pan. Sprinkle streusel on top of loaf.   Bake 60-75 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool slightly.  Loosen sides of loaf pan, remove.  Cool completely before slicing (or enjoy warm!)

5 thoughts on “Almond Streusel Banana Bread

      1. Well, I made banana bread, but with different alterations…no oats, just whole wheat {locally grown and milled, of course 🙂 }, local honey instead of sugar, chopped almonds {not local, but my tree is loaded!}, no streusel topping but stirred in choc. chips.

  1. Dad’s comment to your question…”,Good, real good, excellent and I’m looking forward to some more for breakfast!” I cut a slice when it was still warm so the choc chips were gooey! Yum!

Leave a Reply

