Weekend Adventure {Blanchard Springs}

Last Thursday was Tommy’s birthday.  In the past 2.5+ years of us dating, Tommy has spent each of my birthday’s with me and made me feel like the most special girl ever.  However, this year is the first birthday of his that we’ve been able to spend together.  I had a few to make up for, so I began researching until I had a plan!

So after Tommy’s roommate made a surprise visit to town Friday evening, the three of us loaded up and headed out for a Saturday Surprise Adventure.  The best part is that Tommy had no clue where we were going or what we would be doing.

Our destination? Blanchard Springs, Arkansas

Our activity? Cavern tour and hiking

Where’d we eat? Tommy’s Famous-A Pizzeria

The cavern was incredible, and while I thought it was the perfect distance and ‘difficulty’, the boys were a little disappointed that we didn’t go on the tour involving crawling through dirty, tight spaces.  I told them it was one they could do together and not worry about inviting me, 😉

After the tour, we planned to do a lot of hiking. It was a rainy day, but we weren’t about to cut the day short, so we did a little exploring anyway.

We headed down to the springs and Mirror lake, and we a little climbing while we were at it.  It’s such a beautiful place–so green and lively!

Tommy was clearly being the rebellious one of the group and entered the Springs, 😉

We had a great time out in God’s creation of the ‘Natural State’.  Blanchard Springs also has camping areas so I’m thinking it’d make for a great non-rainy weekend trip!!

After a little hiking, we started to get hungry and headed into Mountain View, a nearby town, to get something to eat.  However, our chosen eatery (Tommy’s Famous-A Pizzeria) didn’t open until 3pm and we had a little time to kill.  It just so happened that there were some Flea Markets and Antique Stores in the area, and you know I looove that kind of shopping.  However, I wasn’t going to mention it, since this day, after all, was for Tommy, not me.  But you would never guess what happened!?!? HE suggested we stop in them! Yeeeeah…He’s a keeper, 😉   After a couple of shops and a few fun finds (we should all speak in alliterations..it’s fun! Try it!) we headed on over to the Pizzeria.  Unfortunately I failed to get pictures, so I guess I’ll have to go back again sometime so I can, 😉  It’s definitely one of those ‘hole-in-the-wall’ type of places, but let. me. tell. you.  The pizza was FANTASTIC!!  And ole Tommy is a character-friendly ole chap!  We left with our bellies full and 19478% satisfied…and then stopped in one last antique shop before hitting the road again 🙂

It was a wonderful day, and definitely somewhere I want to go back to.  And you!-If you’re ever in the North-Central part of Arkansas, you should hit up this place!! It’s great!

What better way to end the day than with a rainbow, 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

