Whole Wheat Biscuit Cinnamon-Almond Rolls + Vanilla-Maple Icing

This happened this morning!

Each morning I wake up at 6, get partially ready for the day, spend some time reading my Bible, and wait to get called in to substitute teach.  Unfortunately, with school only being a couple of weeks in, I have yet to be called. Hopefully this will change soon!

So what do I do on these days I don’t get called in!? It depends..sometimes I workout, read, run errands, or work on crafty projects…and of course, I bake!

This morning I woke up and began my usual routine but again did not get called in, so I debated whether to start my day with a run or baking. Baking won this challenge as my stomach growled in hunger.  So I set out in the kitchen to bake breakfast for my housemates, aka family.

I saw a recipe on the Brown Eyed Baker blog yesterday for Cinnamon Roll Biscuits, and thought of it again this morning. So I pulled up her site and got to work, revamping the recipe to make it my own. You can find her original recipe here.

I love the light airiness of these cinnamon rolls. Since it’s a biscuit dough, there is very little kneading to do, which speeds up the process and reduces the hassle.  After they were finished baking, and a fresh pot of coffee was brewed, all I could do was wait patiently and hope everyone would wake up soon so we could dig in to these delicious rolls.

 

Recipe: 

Whole Wheat Biscuit Cinnamon-Almond Rolls with Vanilla-Maple Icing (yum yum per Katie D/P)

For the Biscuits:

1 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons granulated sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup heavy cream

4 oz. Chobani plain Greek Yogurt

2-4 tablespoons cold water

 

For the Filling:

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 cup slivered almonds

 

For the Icing:

½ cup powdered sugar

2 oz. Chobani plain Greek Yogurt

2 tablespoons cold water

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon maple extract

(add more powdered sugar or water until icing is the consistency you prefer)

 

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add the cream and yogurt and stir with a wooden spoon until a rough dough comes together. Add cold water 1 tablespoon at a time until all dough is moist and easily forms into a ball. Remove the dough from the bowl and place on a lightly-floured surface. Knead the dough for about 30 seconds, or until smooth. If the dough seems dry, add more water 1 tablespoon at a time.

3. Roll the dough into a 9×12-inch rectangle. Brush the dough with the melted butter. Stir together the brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl, then sprinkle evenly over the surface of the dough. Sprinkle with slivered almonds. Roll the dough into a cylinder. Cut the cylinder into 8-10 equal pieces. Place in pie plate or cake pan and press down in the middle of each roll to keep from popping up.

4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the biscuits are golden brown. Remove from the oven. Whisk together ingredients for icing and drizzle them over the biscuits. Highly recommended to serve warm with a fresh cup of coffe, 🙂

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Biscuit Cinnamon-Almond Rolls + Vanilla-Maple Icing

Leave a Reply

