Pizza #2: Alaska

Yesterday Tommy and I made and ate pizza number two.  After such a ‘normal’ pizza last week, this week’s was definitely kicked up a notch by using salmon.  Neither Tommy nor I are big salmon eaters, so we were both a little nervous about this one.  On top of that, the original pizza called for fish sauce.  Now, I’ve never had fish sauce, but I reeally don’t like the smell of fish, so I couldn’t imagine how I’d handle fish sauce.  As a remedy, we decided to completely omit the fish sauce and use our own sauce, brown-butter garlic sauce.  Ya’ll, I don’t know if you’ve ever browned butter, but let me just say: UH-MAZE-ING!!  But we’ll get back to that later.

Just a  note on the original pizza toppings: fish sauce, red onion, green bell pepper, tomatoes, fresh Alaska salmon, and mozzarella cheese.   Interesting huh!?

Here’s what we used instead: brown-butter garlic sauce, yellow sweet onion, green bell pepper, smoked salmon filet (marinated in our homemade lemon garlic marinade), and mozzarella cheese.

I mixed up the marinade in the morning so the salmon could get a good soak and full of flavor.  We ended up making the pizza for lunch because we had other plans for the evening but didn’t want to skip our weekly pizza this early into our adventure.

I mixed up the crust, and split it in half to make a batch of cheese sticks along with our Salmon Pizza.  Then I let them both rest and rise a bit while I finished preparing the toppings.  

We decided to dice the pepper and onion, but they could easily be cut into strips-whichever you prefer!

Now this, THIS, is what I want you to go and make, like now! If you have not experienced browned butter, you’re missing out. I can’t believe I took this long to finally try it.  The smell made me want to drink this stuff..I seriously just stood over the stove, stirring and breathing the aroma. It made me one happy girl! Okay, maybe I’m overdoing it a bit, but seriously, this just takes butter and garlic to a whole. new. level.

Just drizzle the brown-butter garlic sauce over the pizza crust and spread it around evenly.  I’m not going to lie, I was tempted to just sprinkle cheese on top and bake it as it was.

But instead, I continued with the plan and sprinkled on the onion, pepper, and cheese. And then I topped the pizza with the salmon which I shredded with a fork. {And apparently forgot to take a picture of-oops!} In the meantime, I had put the cheese sticks in the oven so they’d be ready for an appetizer while our pizza was baking.

Not long after, the pizza was ready to be pulled out of the oven with it’s golden brown crust, melted cheese, and baked salmon.

Now it was time for the true test. How would salmon pizza taste?! How would salmon pizza taste to two people who aren’t even fans of salmon?!  Well, I’m happy to say we were both pleasantly surprised.  The salmon flavor was not overwhelming, and the brown-butter garlic sauce gave the entire pizza a delicious, somewhat nutty, savory flavor!  Tommy and I even had seconds, 🙂

Recipe:

Lemon-Garlic Salmon Pizza with Brown-Butter Garlic Sauce

Crust:

2-3 cups flour

1 Tbs. rapid rise yeast

1 Tbs. sugar

pinch of salt

2 Tbs. Olive oil

1 cup warm water

herbs

Mix all ingredients together, starting with 2 cups of flour.  Stir together till dough is moist.  Add more flour, 1/4 cup at a time, until dough is dry enough to knead.  Dump onto lightly floured surface and need in remaining flour or until dough is no longer sticky.  Roll out dough into a circle and let rest while you prepare the toppings.

Lemon-Garlic Marinade:

juice of half a lemon

1/4 cup olive oil

2 garlic cloves (cut in half)

a dash of each: cilantro, parsley, sea salt, cumin, red pepper, paprika.

Stir all ingredients and pour over salmon filet.  Let soak for 2-4 hours, or as long as you please.

Brown-Butter Garlic Sauce:

3 Tbs Butter

1 large garlic clove (minced)

slice butter into heavy pan and melt over medium heat.  Stir constantly.  When butter begins to boil and white foam appears on top, toss in garlic and continue stirring.  As butter boils, it will begin to brown.  Be careful not to boil butter to long or it’ll burn!

Toppings:

1 yellow sweet onion, minced

1 green bell pepper, minced

salmon

mozzarella cheese

Bake at 450 degrees F for 15-20 minutes or until cheese is melted and crust is golden brown.

One thought on “Pizza #2: Alaska

Leave a Reply

