Homemade Pizza Crust

Due to a few different reasons, and change of plans, Tommy and I are missing out on Pizza Night this week.  However, I didn’t want you all to miss out completely too.  So I decided to post the recipe for my homemade crust.  I know I post it with each of our crazy pizza recipes, but thought I’d share just the crust recipe with you today!! I have it memorized by now and end up adding different random herbs and spices each time.  Like I’ve said before, I love homemade pizza. And I make it..a lot!! 🙂

After mixing all the ingredients, and kneading the dough gently for a few minutes, I simply roll it out on a lightly floured counter-top surface. Notice my lack of perfectionism when rolling out the dough.  Who needs round pizza dough to start out with anyway!?

Then I place it on my pizza pan and fold down the excess dough around the edges, pinching it together to form the crust.  Like I said, I’m not so much a perfectionist when it comes to pizza dough forming.  It ends up looking beautiful and tasting great no mater what, 🙂

After I have my dough in the pan, I let it rise for about 5 minutes in the oven.  I usually need these few extra minutes to finish preparing the sauce and toppings anyway.

So there ya have it, homemade pizza dough-ready to be topped and baked. What are your favorite pizza toppings?!

Recipe

Homemade Pizza Crust:

2-3 cups flour (my secret-I mix whole wheat flour in the dough)

1 Tbs. rapid rise yeast

1 Tbs. sugar

pinch of salt

2 Tbs. Olive oil

1 cup warm water

herbs

Mix all ingredients together, starting with 2 cups of flour.  Stir together till dough is moist.  Add more flour, 1/4 cup at a time, until dough is dry enough to knead.  Dump onto lightly floured surface and need in remaining flour or until dough is no longer sticky.  Roll out dough into a circle and let rest while you prepare the toppings.

Bake at 450 degrees F for 15-20 mins.

Makes one large thick crust pizza, or 2 small thin crust pizzas.

26 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza Crust

Leave a Reply

