Onion Braid Bread

I love Autumn. I love the cool crisp mornings. The leaves changing colors. The smells. The holidays that follow. And the fact that it’s perfect weather to warm up with a bowl of soup. I am definitely getting into a soup phase, and loving that the varieties of soup are nearly endless.

The other day I started a batch of black bean soup in the crock pot before I headed off to school. By the time I got home in the afternoon, the savory and spicy aroma filled the house and I couldn’t wait for supper time. But I knew we couldn’t have soup by itself, and I wanted more than just crackers on the side. I knew the perfect partner for this warm, tasty meal: Onion Braid Bread.I got to work mixing flour, yeast, and sugar along with the other components for this soft, fluffy bread dough. After kneading the dough, it was time for it to rise. In the meantime I prepared the onion mixture used as the bread’s filling.

Once everything was prepared, I rolled out my dough, cut slits on the sides, spread the middle with my onion mixture, and braided the bread by folding the strips over the middle, alternating sides. {I hope you all will find the kindness in your heart to forgive me for the previous forever long sentence as well as not including pictures of this ‘braiding’ procedure! Thanks!} This all may sound a little confusing and/or complicating, but take my word for it: it’s not as bad as it sounds. AND, it’ll all be totally worth it when it’s baked and ready to eat!After it’s baked, I like smear butter all over the top, giving the crust a softer finish, and of course a delicious added buttery goodness, πŸ™‚ Then I let it cool on a cooling rack for a little before slicing it.

I have to admit, I have to practice self control extra with this loaf of bread. I could seriously eat the whole thing in one setting! It’s soft, full of flavor and melts in your mouth-making it hard not to keep going back for another slice. It was definitely the perfect pair four our black bean soup the other night!!

Recipe:

Onion Braid Bread

(makes 2 loaves)

Bread
1 pkg yeast
4 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup milk
3/4 cup water
1 egg
Filling:
1/4 cup butter (melted)
1/4 cup dried onions
1 Tablespoon sesame seeds
1 Tablespoon Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1 teaspoon paprika

Combine 2 cups flour, sugar, salt, and yeast. Stir in butter and egg. Heat milk and water until warm. Add to mixture and stir until moistened. Gradually stir inΒ remainingΒ flour. Cover, let rest 10 minutes. On floured board, roll dough to rectangle. Make angled slices 1/3 in on both long sides. Spread with filling. Braid slightly, overlapping slices. Cover and let rise until double.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30-35 minutes, until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

