Pizza #9: Florida

I might be getting married today, but that doesn’t mean we didn’t have time for Pizza NightESPECIALLY after we missed last week, and ESPECIALLY when the whole family is home plus a couple besties!!  How could we skip it?!?!

Because of the large crowd, we made multiple pizzas, keeping a couple simple, but not leaving out pizza from our next state in line: Florida.floridaFlorida’s specialty is a Shortrib Pizza.  Apparently this crispy crusted pizza is hard to find.  But when it is, it’s topped with slow-roasted rib meat, aged gruyere, caramelized onion, and arugula.

After the recent seafood pizzas, I was excited to find one with beef on it!! {And I’m pretty sure this was much more appealing to the men in my family!}  So I went to my parent’s freezer and pulled out a package of ribs and got started.  I mixed up a barbecue sauce concoction which may or may not have included a secret ingredient, 😉  stuck it all in the crock pot to slow cook!gals2When it came to topping our pizza, I smeared leftover sauce from the ribs onto the crust, shredded the rib meat, added caramelized onion, and sprinkled on Swiss cheese.  With about 5 minutes left in baking, I sprinkled a handful of spinach leaves on the top, slightly wilting the greens.guys2By the time it came out of the oven, we were all ready to dig in.  It was a hit for everyone, and definitely a keeper.  I told Tommy that he and I will have to make this one again soon since he missed out last night!  The flavors were sweet and spicy with just the right amount of tang to it!!  I could have probably eaten a good portion of the pizza myself, but I wanted to share the goodness AND fit into my dress today, 😉

The rest of the evening was filled with family fun of games and laughter.  It was a pretty perfect pre-wedding evening to me!!

Now, if you’ve skipped trying out the past couple pizzas, I don’t necessarily blame ya, but this one, THIS ONE is absolutely worth trying!!  I promise you won’t regret it, 🙂florida

Recipe:

Shortrib Pizza

Crust:

Homemade Pizza Crust

Sauce:

1 cup ketchup

1/2 cup vinegar

2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp mustard

4 Tbsp chopped onion

2 clove garlic

{plus a secret ingredient–sorry 😉 }

Toppings:

Slow Cooked Rib Meat

Caramelized Onion

Swiss Cheese

Spinach leaves

Bake at 450 degrees F for 15-20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

