Pizza #10: Georgia

It’s been a while since I’ve shared a pizza recipe with y’all.  It’s not because I was trying to exclude y’all, I promise! It’s really just because we haven’t been making pizza recently….Until this week!! It’s been neglected too long, and we’ve finally been home long enough to start up again. So today, I’d like to share with you Georgia’s Yuppie Pizza.

Let me just tell you straight up, this pizza was FANTASTIC!!! It was so fresh and colorful. Flavorful and Delicious!!! We didn’t even stray far from what the original pizza called for. Now, I’m sure ours still didn’t taste exactly the same, but aside from our own pizza sauce recipe, we stuck with what they used!

Here’s what was involved…plus some sausage that was not included in the picture.

{{tomato, mushroom, spinach, artichoke hearts, banana peppers, feta cheese}}
{{tomato, mushroom, spinach, artichoke hearts, banana peppers, feta cheese}}

Now please tell me that doesn’t look incredible already.  Look at those colors.  Just think of the flavors that we’re about to mix together.  I don’t know about you, but my mouth is watering just thinking about it.  Too bad there aren’t any left overs.

sidenote: I may or may not have eaten a few banana peppers straight from the jar. I just love those things!!

IMG_1656Okay, back to our pizza…  Tommy whipped up a batch of his red sauce and browned the sausage while I chopped the veggies and mixed up the crust.

Before long, it was ready to slide into the oven.  This gave me just enough time to get the dishes washed before the pizza was ready to eat.IMG_1655 Tommy took the liberty of drizzling olive oil on the edge of the crust before we stuck it in the oven, giving us a nice crispy crust.  If you’re a fan of crispy crusts, I highly recommend doing this.  We loved it and I’m pretty sure we’ll do this for our pizzas here on out.

By the time it came out of the oven, I could hardly keep my hands off it long enough to get a few pictures.IMG_1657Mmm..check out that steam rising…it smelled so good. And tasted even better!IMG_1659The tangy, spicy, and sweet flavors from the veggies, meet, and feta cheese blended so perfectly on top of our crispy pizza crust.  This is definitely going to be a pizza we make again!!! However, next week will be a new pizza, but I’m trying to convince my husband to let us skip the next state.  It’s not that I have anything against Hawaii…it’s the toppings I’m not sure about.  Anchovies anyone??

Lucky for my parents, they’ll be in town to try it if I can’t convince someone to just let us move on to Idaho, 😉 {{I’m sure my mom’s just thrilled!!}}

Okay, I’ll quit blabbing and give you this week’s recipe so you can go indulge in it’s goodness!IMG_1660

Recipe

Yuppie Pizza

Crust:

Homemade Pizza Crust

Tommy’s Sauce:

1 can tomato sauce

sugar

cinnamon

fresh garlic (minced)

salt

oregano

Italian seasoning

crushed red pepper

There are no measurements to the above herbs and spices due to the fact that Tommy doesn’t measure.  It’s all a matter of dash and taste.  To be honest, I may not have even listed all the items he used, so go ahead, find your spices, and don’t be afraid to experiment.  Taste it along the way until it has a flavor you love.  Mix it in a sauce pan until a soft boil begins. Pour onto prepared crust and spread evenly.

Toppings:

sausage-browned

artichoke hearts (canned, drained)

tomato

fresh spinach leaves

sliced banana peppers

mushrooms

feta cheese

Bake at 450 degrees F for about 15 minutes

2 thoughts on “Pizza #10: Georgia

Leave a Reply

