Puzzlemania

Tommy and I are quickly becoming that ‘old married couple’.  Eating an early supper…Going to bed at 9:30…Sitting for hours working on puzzles.  We have no shame though.  We actually quite enjoy our lifestyle, 😉progressWhile we were in Colorado on our honeymoon, we bought a 500 piece puzzle of a panoramic mountain view.  It’s an absolutely gorgeous picture, and when we bought it, Tommy was concerned that 500 pieces was not going to be enough of a challenge.  We looked for a 1000 piece puzzle, but after finding none that we liked, we settled for this one.

It wasn’t until we started to put it together that my dear husband decided this 500 piece puzzle just might be a little challenging after all.  You see, the picture itself is challenging because of the blue sky, mountains, andcolorful trees.  But then if you look at the pieces themselves, they don’t fit together in a straight line.  Instead, they curve all around and match up in the most peculiar ways.borderIt took us a while to even get the border finished.  We seriously sorted through the pieces 3 times before finding all the edge pieces.  The sneaky little boogers blended right in!  But once the border was complete, we were hooked and making quick progress.tncWe had one of our friends, Cameron, (a boy from our youth group) over one evening and it wasn’t long before he was hooked too.  He and Tommy spent some time sorting the pieces while I worked on some classwork, and then we all spent time piecing the sections of the puzzle together.workingA couple evenings later, Katie and Chris came over, and Katie helped Tommy and I complete the puzzle.  I’m not going to lie, we were pretty proud of ourselves, and we can’t wait to start another one.  But we’re going to enjoy this one for a little bit first, as it sits on display on our ‘puzzle table’.  puzzleDo you enjoy puzzles? How many pieces do your puzzles usually contain?

P.S.
In case you were wondering, I did indeed just type this post in order to procrastinate from my AR History homework. Aaaand now it’s my bedtime, so I guess it’ll have to wait until another day.  Good thing I have until Sunday, 😉

P.P.S or is it P.S.S ….I can never remember..oh well.
My parents are coming to visit tomorrow evening.  They’ll be here for a few days and I couldn’t be more excited to see them and have them see our home now that it’s finally all put together!!  Safe travels mom and dad!!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Puzzlemania

  1. I love doing puzzles. It’s a tradition to put one together at Christmas time as a family…. well, mostly Amy and I. My latest puzzle is 2000 pieces. After finding all the border pieces and trying to put them together, I found our table was too small 😦 so it will have to wait until I can get a larger table. Usually we get 500 – 1000 piece puzzles.

    1. Oh no! I hope you at least kept the edge pieces in a bag or something so you don’t have to sort all the pieces again! Growing up we would also usually set up puzzle around Christmas and work on it as a family. Such a good tradition/memory 🙂

  2. Yes that is a fun puzzle, I went to the Re-Uzit store here to get a couple new puzzles for this winter and I actually bought that one. It is beautiful when together but sure does have very odd pieces. I bought two
    others a 1000 piece and a 1500 piece I am not sure if I will do those, seems like a lot of other things need done right now and I would do that instead if I started it. Hope you enjoy your weekend with your parents.

    1. Oh wow, 1500 is quite the task, and yes, when the puzzle was in progress here, there were other things being neglected. So we’ll have to wait to we ‘catch up’ a little before starting a new one, 🙂

Leave a Reply

