Pizza #11: Hawaii

Well guys, we did it. We made the Anchovy Pizza and we ate it…ALL of it! I was really hesitant, and tried to make some adaptions which didn’t work out as planned.  But we did it, and now I can say I’ve had Anchovy Pizza.  I can also say that I never want to eat anchovy anything again!! My parents were in town for the weekends so they got in on this one too, and I think it’s safe to say that my mom would agree with my ‘no more anchovies’ statement. 😉anchovy pizzaThe original pizza is covered in tomato sauce, mozzarella, thyme, white marinated Spanish anchovies, and Hawaiian chile pepper water.  I did my research on Hawaiian chile pepper water, and then got started.

I found a recipe for Hawaiian chile pepper water and made my own ‘rendition’ thinking I would soak the anchovies in this solution in hopes to dilute the fishiness.  Well, it ended up causing the anchovies to basically just dissolve and look even more distasteful.  But because my husband insisted that we buy TWO cans of anchovies when we were grocery shopping, we went back to the basics and just used whole anchovies straight from the can to place atop our pizza.

To give it a more appealing look, we placed the anchovies under a thick layer of  mozzarella.  All this only to find out later that it’s best not to bake anchovies, rather place them on AFTER baking the pizza.  Our method resulted in a saltier taste than if they had been left uncooked.

So as you’re reading this, you’re probably wondering WHY I’m relaying this ‘failed and distasteful’  pizza experience to you all.  Well, let me tell you why.  This pizza adventure that we are on is not only to give you great recipes.  We have definitely tasted some incredible pizza topping combos. But even more is the experience of moving state to state and trying out their highlighted pie-something new and unique.  So, through this experience, I want to give you my honest opinion of what we thought of the pizza, and how we went about creating our version.  Then it’s up to you if you dare make it for yourself to try. 🙂supperAnyway, I will say it wasn’t the WORST thing I’ve ever eaten, but I’m not a fan of the salty, fishy, anchovy topping.  Maybe you are though, so here’s the recipe…give this pie a try.

Recipe

Anchovy Pizza

Crust:

Homemade Pizza Crust

Tommy’s Sauce:

1 can tomato sauce

sugar

cinnamon

fresh garlic (minced)

salt

oregano

Italian seasoning

crushed red pepper

There are no measurements to the above herbs and spices due to the fact that Tommy doesn’t measure.  It’s all a matter of dash and taste.  To be honest, I may not have even listed all the items he used, so go ahead, find your spices, and don’t be afraid to experiment.  Taste it along the way until it has a flavor you love.  Mix it in a sauce pan until a soft boil begins. Pour onto prepared crust and spread evenly.

Toppings:

Anchovies {we bought them canned in olive oil}

Mozzarella cheese

Thyme {we used dried}

Hawaiian Chile Pepper Water {we used: 1 tsp. minced garlic.  2 cups water-hot but not boiling.  1 Tbsp. white vinegar. 3 Tbsp. green chile peppers.}
**after a failed attempt to use this solution as a ‘marenade’ for the anchovies, we simply drizzled about 1/4 cup into the sauce before topping the pizza

Bake at 450 degrees F for about 15 minutes

2 thoughts on “Pizza #11: Hawaii

Leave a Reply

