Granola

I’ve been on a coconut kick for about a month now.  Ever since I made these Chewy Coconut Oatmeal Cookies, I’ve been craving coconut!  My husband and I went to a Thai restaurant the other week ago and I loved the coconut curry he got.  I’m so glad he shared a little with me, because I was kicking myself for not getting it too! Next time…

So last weekend when my husband requested I make some granola for him to take on his camping trip, I immediately began searching for a recipe that involved Coconut!!!  I found this recipe, and after having a small taste test, I decided it was too good to send ALL of it with him. So I stashed a small bag away for me, and gave him the rest.  Turns out, one small bag for myself was not near enough and I found myself wanting more all week.  So I decided to make a couple more batches with my own spin on things.granolaAfter a few revisions, additions, substitutions, and 30 minutes of baking each, I had two batches of delicious, crunchy granola…with LOTS of coconut! 🙂granola2One batch I made with a homemade blood orange syrup, giving it just a light citrus flavor that paired wonderfully with the coconut.  The other batch I used homemade maple syrup, giving the granola a sweeter flavor and extra crunch!granola1I like to eat mine in a bowl of milk or over yogurt.  My husband loves his plain.  Whatever your style of eating, this recipe is must-make AND has quickly become a keeper in our house.  If you don’t like coconut…well, let me just say your missing out!! Sorry!!

bloodorangesNow here’s the recipe. PLEASE! Go make this now and make your taste buds and belly happy!!! 🙂

Recipe

Granola

2 cups old fashioned oats

1 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup chopped almonds (I used salted)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 Tbsp. brown sugar

5 Tbsps. coconut oil (melted)

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup homemade syrup (recipe below)

Mix all ingredients in mixing bowl.  Stir with wooden spoon until all ingredients are evenly moist.  Spread evenly onto baking sheet (I recommend you use a Silpat Mat, or parchment paper if you don’t have a mat.)

Bake at 300 degrees F for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.  Let cool, then store in zip-lock bag or airtight container.

Syrup Recipes

Blood Orange Syrup

1/2 cup fresh squeezed juice from blood oranges (or any orange will work)

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

Bring to boil over medium-high heat, and then simmer about 5-10 minutes to slightly thicken.

Maple Syrup

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup

Bring to boil over medium-high heat, and then simmer about 5-10 minutes to slightly thicken.  (**this recipe can be made at any quantity. Just use equal parts of water, brown sugar, and white sugar.)

Leave a Reply

