Pizza #16: Kansas

I have a problem.  This problem is the fact that every time, and I mean EVERY time, I have taco salad, it gets way to big and can’t finish it {or I get entirely way too full!}  It never fails.  No matter how hard I try to start out small, by the time I get all my toppings on, my entire plate is covered and piled high with chips, meat, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream, and salsa. EVERY. TIME.

Anyone else out there have the same problem??

Please tell me I’m not alone!!

I know, I know, I’m supposed to be sharing a pizza recipe with ya’ll and here I am telling you about my taco salad problems.  Well, I tell you this because I encountered this problem while making our pizza tonight.  Yes, tonight’s pizza was Taco Salad Pizza.  All the way from Kansas.2013-03-14 18.41.30Home State Represent!!

{{For you Kansans out there, I’m not talking about Pizza Hut’s Taco Pizza!}}

This Taco Pizza comes from The Wichita Pizza Company, in, well, Wichita! It’s toppings are colorful with re-fried beans, pizza sauce, hamburger {or chicken, but we stuck with the beef}, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and crushed up Doritos.tacopizzaTommy is not the biggest fan of taco salad so he was a bit skeptical of this pizza. Knowing this, I planned on making a smaller pizza. This is when my taco salad problem came in full force.  The pizza somehow grew to be the size I normally make.  Oh well…

I liked this pizza and especially enjoyed the extra little crunch from the Doritos.  It was a unique addition that really worked for this pie.  Nonetheless, I think I’ll stick to eating my taco salad over a bed of chips!2013-03-14 18.41.30

Recipe

Taco Pizza

1.) Roll out Homemade Pizza Crust and place on pizza stone {or on a pan}.

2.) Spread a layer of re-fried beans on the crust.

3.) Spread a layer of Tommy’s Sauce on the crust

4.) Sprinkle desired amount of beef or chicken over pizza.

5.) Top with cheese.

6.) Bake at 450 degrees F for about 15 minutes or until crust is golden brown and cheese is melted.

7) Remove from oven and top with diced tomatoes.

8.) Add chopped lettuce.

9) Sprinkled crunched up Doritos on very top.

10.) Enjoy, 🙂 {{But be forewarned–re-fried beans trap heat like none other.  Eat with caution straight from the oven!!}}

 

 

One thought on “Pizza #16: Kansas

  1. You are NOT the only one who ends up with way too much food on the plate when making a taco salad. Starts out small ends up huge but I usually eat it all 🙂 This pizza looks yummy, I’ll have to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

