Currently My Favorites…

Hello Friends! How’s life?

Things have been busy over here lately {if my lack of posting hasn’t hinted anything}, and my planner is quickly filling up for the next couple of months.  Does life ever slow down?!

Anyway, I just thought I’d share some current ‘favorites’ in my busy life lately! 🙂

Books:

Karen Kingsbury’s 9/11 series.  SO. GOOD.  I love all of Karen Kingsbury’s books that I’ve read, and always get sucked into them and finish them quickly.  Her Chrisitan Fiction books are ones that I just can’t seem to put down once I get started.  I’m currently on book two, and have book three waiting.  They have me going from tears to smiles constantly throughout the pages.  books

Breakfast:

I’ve been on a pretty major smoothie kick lately.  To be honest, I’m almost always up for a smoothie–even on some of the coldest days in winter.  But currently, I’m loving using Silk Coconut Milk as a substitute for regular milk.  They feel so much lighter, and I love the faint taste of coconut added to my fruit and yogurt.2013-03-22 10.04.13

TV Shows:

The Voice–How can you NOT love it when the judges are Adam Levine, Shakira, Usher, and Blake Shelton.  They’re so encouraging to the singers, and hilarious with each other.  Not to mention there are some incredible voices trying out this season!!

Friday Night Lights–Okay, I know, I’m only like 6 or 7 years late on this one, but once I started watching, it didn’t take long before I was hooked.  Shows like this are dangerous for me. I tend to get sucked in and feel like I really know the characters.  I had this same problem with Gilmore Girls.  …Dream on Tatiana..Dream. On.

Americans–This show is INtense!!  But I love it!  I think the fact of my living in Russia last year may have a little to do with my interest in this show about the KGB spies in America back in the days during the Cold War.

Cookies

Best. Chocolate. Chip. Cookies. EVER!!!  Make them now!!  I dare you to try and only eat one!!
I’ve recently discovered Avery’s blog, and it is a new favorite.  This lady knows what she’s doing!!! >>>TRUTH!

Scripture:

Psalms 27:14  
Wait for the LORD; be strong and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!

Psalms 62:5-6  
Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

These verses are such a comfort to me.  I struggle pretty much daily with trying to get ahead of myself (and God) –wanting answers, and wanting to know what’s ahead.  I’m so thankful for these reminders to be patient, to wait, knowing that God is in control.  HE will take care of me, regardless what is yet to come.  I can put my hope and future in Him and Him alone.

Quick Meal:

I’ve mentioned a few times recently how much Tommy and I enjoyed the Coconut Red Curry Chicken from a Thai Restaurant here in town.  And now I have found a super quick and easy recipe so we can have it here as home as often as we want.  I made it the other night, and the leftovers just keep getting better.  It probably won’t be long until we make this Red Thai Curry Chicken again.  I made a few adaptions on the veggies.  It’s definitely a keeper in our home, 🙂

School Stories:

I did some subbing in PE last week.  While I’d much rather be in a classroom teaching, I did enjoy playing with the kiddos and came home with some funny stories and sweet memories.

–With one particular kid, I enjoyed a 15 minute game of tether ball   I’m not actually sure if it can count as a ‘game’ because we really weren’t competing against each other.  It more consisted of us lightly batting the ball back and forth as he talked non-stop about dinosaurs.  I learned ALL about the different types on dinosaurs on a game he plays on his DS.  He couldn’t believe I didn’t know the name for duck-billed dinosaurs.  And when I asked if they could fly, I’m pretty sure he thought I was crazy.  ..What can I say, I’ve never been ‘into’ dinosaurs!

–I played a few rounds of Basketball Knockout with a group of 4th graders.  I remember when I was that age, we always thought it was SO cool when Mr. Gleason would join us for a game on recess.  It made me feel good to now be the ‘cool teacher’!  And let me tell ya…those sweet 4th graders suuuuure know how to flatter me, 😉  Here’s a little conversation that went down during the game…

Student:  Come on Mrs. Dominguez, just dunk it!!

Me: I can’t dunk, are you kidding me?!?

Student:  Sure you can, all you have to do is jump.

Me. Umm…well, I can’t jump.  Have you seen me try to jump?

Students. Aw, come on! You’re not even trying!!

Me: Well I’m glad you think I’m that good, but trust me… I. Can’t. Dunk.

…..For some reason I still don’t think I convinced them. Ha!

–I was told I looked like Katy Perry and Carly Rae Jepson.  They even asked if they could call me Ms. Katy Perry, to which I abruptly answered “NO!!!!!!!!”  I’m still trying to figure out if I want to take these comments as compliments or not :-s

Recipes To Try:

Toasted Coconut Cookie Bars || {EatLiveRun}

Can you tell I’m still obsessed with Coconut??

coconut-squares-9204Snickerdoodle Scones || {SweetPea’sKitchen}

Snickerdoodle-Scones4Chicken Gyros || {TideAndThyme}

chickengyrosMediterranean Orzo Salad || {IowaGirlEats}

Mediterranean-Orzo-Salad-01_miniThe week’s almost over, friends.  Hang in there and have a great weekend!! 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Currently My Favorites…

Leave a Reply

