Waffle Wednesday

I’ve always been a fan of breakfast foods…especially for Supper.  Pancakes, French Toast, Waffles, Biscuits and Gravy…you name it, I’ll eat it!  Thankfully I married a man who shares this same love.  So when we received a waffle iron as a wedding gift, we immediately decided it needed to become a weekly tradition.  Hence: Waffle Wednesday.2013-04-10 19.00.25Sometimes we cheat and use Bisquick to save time.  But my favorite are made from scratch;  my dad’s recipe that he would make us weekly for breakfast growing up.  Technically it’s the recipe from the Betty Crocker Cookbook, but the extra love he always included made them extra special.  Sorry Betty Crocker, Dad’s getting the extra credit this time, 😉wafflesNot only did we have fresh waffles made from scratch, but also fresh, homemade syrup.  I still feel bad for people who have only had the store bought kind.  I mean, Aunt Jemima’s good and all, but you just can’t beat fresh, hot syrup to melt the butter on a stack of waffles.  Needless to say, Tommy and I make fresh syrup each Wednesday to douse our waffles in.

Last week, we decided to kick things up a notch and try butter pecan syrup.  We started out by making my dad’s homemade recipe, then adding a little butter and chopped pecans.2013-04-10 18.51.29I can’t lie, ya’ll.  It was soooo good!!! It totally made me love Waffle Wednesday’s even more.  And trust me, I already look forward to this day each week!!2013-04-10 19.00.44Being the dear friends that you are to me, I’d hate for  you all to miss out on this bliss, so I just couldn’t help but share with you.  Here’s the recipe, ENJOY! 🙂

Recipe:

Dad’s Homemade Waffles and Butter Pecan Syrup

Pancakes: {found in Betty Crocker Cookbook}

2 eggs (slightly beaten)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1.) Heat waffle iron while mixing ingredients.

2). Mix all ingredients in large bowl and stir with wire whisk untill well mixed and evenly moist.

3.) Spray waffle iron, then pour between 1/2 cup and 3/4 cup batter on iron, depending on size.  Close lid and bake for about 5 minutes, or until waffle iron indicates that bake time is complete.

4.) Remove from iron and serve immediately with butter {or my personal favorite: Peanut Butter} and Syrup.

Butter Pecan Syrup:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup water

Bring to boil in sauce pan on medium-high heat, stirring occasionally.  Once boiling, immediately remove from heat.

Add:  4 Tablespoons butter, stirring constantly until melted.

Add: 1/2 cup pecans, chopped.

Serve over fresh stack of waffles, pancakes, or french toast.

*Can be refrigerated and reheated for leftovers.

Leave a Reply

