I promise, I haven’t forgotten about you all!!! {{time to play catch-up}}

yellow fieldsSo once again, I must apologize for my absence.  I do plan on this changing..starting now!

Due to my absence, you may have noticed the lack of our Pizza nights.  Hopefully next week we’ll get a new one up for you all!  Speaking of pizza nights– As I was looking at our upcoming pizza, I have to admit I’m a little nervous about some.  But hey, I’m always up for an adventure. I hope you are too! 🙂

I guess now is when I catch you all up on what’s been going on here the past couple weeks.  Bare with me, this could get random.

-Tommy’s been busy with his new job.  He’s been training all day every day to help open up Starbuck’s opened up here in Jonesboro.  It’s the first ‘real’ Starbuck’s Cafe and they’re hoping to open up a second one within a year.  He’s been absolutely loving every minute of it as, those of you who know him even just a little, will know that this job is right up his alley.  There are a lot of great opportunities for him to be able to move up in the company pretty quickly as well, and we are both so excited to see where all God takes him through this!!

-We had a FULL weekend a couple weeks ago as we made a trip to Pittsburg, KS for my brother’s college graduation in the morning, then down to Tulsa, OK for one of our best friend’s wedding that evening.  PHEW! It was a lot of driving, but thankfully the two events were spaced out enough that we didn’t have to be in a rush.  This gave us an enjoyable morning with my family, and an enjoyable evening with Tommy’s family and so many of our dear friends.  Not to mention this was Mother’s Day weekend, so we were blessed to get to see both our Mom’s around their special day, 🙂

-I was subbing in second grade the other day, leaving me with many reasons to chuckle.  One of which went like this…

One girl was showing a video of her and her sisters lip-singing to pop songs.  They were outside in their backyard, so glimpses of their house were in the background.  This house is very large–3 stories and sprawling. After seeing the house one of her classmates exclaimed, “Oh! My! Gosh!  Your house is huuuuuuge! How much did it cost? Like two-thousand dollars??”
“No,” the first girl responded, “my dad built it.”
{…as if that simple fact made the house free}.  
So many reasons why I was humored by this little event in the day.  If only houses were really that cheap!

-I am beyond thrilled to announce that I am officially a Valley View Blazer, as I will be teaching 6th grade English starting this Fall!!!!!!  I feel so blessed to be a part of this school/family, and am looking forward to this next phase of kicking off my teaching career.  I have met a few teachers I’ll be with, peeked into my classroom, glanced over lesson plans and Professional Development dates, and am beginning to gather ideas for making my classroom!  I. CAN’T. WAIT!
It’s going to be a busy summer for sure, getting everything ready, but I couldn’t be more excited to get started.  {I’m sure next summer I won’t be near as excited to ‘prep for the upcoming year’. Ha!}

-We’re heading to Oklahoma for a Memorial Day Camping weekend with my family.  I think it’s pretty safe to say that I’m not the only one in this house that is looking forward to a weekend away…camping, hiking, and soaking up family time.  Friday, PLEASE HURRY!!

-Speaking of Friday….Friday is the Grand Opening of Starbucks here in town, and guess who has opening shift?  My dear husband.  I’m not envious of the early alarm he’ll be setting that day.  But I sure am proud of him and excited that he’s getting to do exactly what he loves:: serving others, and making coffee!!

-After taking about 2 years off from consistently running, I think I’ve finally ‘recovered’ and am ready to get back into it.  I’ve started running again a little more consistently lately and have found a half-marathon training schedule that I’m going to start in June.  The plan is to run a half here in Jonesboro in the Fall.  I don’t plan on doing this race fast by any means, but rather just to get back in shape.  I’ll let you all know how the process/progress goes!

Well, I think that about does it.  As you can tell, we’ve had a lot of exciting new things going on in our lives here in NE Arkansas.  We’re so grateful for the many ways God continues to provide for us daily, and can’t wait to see where he continues to lead and use our abilities/talents/gifts HE’S blessed us with.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
Jeremiah 29:11

What have you all been up to? What are your Memorial Day plans?

One thought on “I promise, I haven’t forgotten about you all!!! {{time to play catch-up}}

Leave a Reply

