Meatless Monday {Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Burritos}

We don’t necessarily do “Meatless Monday’s” around here. Sometimes our Monday meal ends up being meatless, but it’s not something we purposely plan each week.  But today’s recipe is a perfect “Meatless Monday” recipe.  It’s a perfect meatless recipe for any day, really.  In fact, we had this on Thursday! 🙂

Do you remember last week when I linked a recipe for Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos.  We made it for dinner on Thursday, and friends, THIS one’s a keeper!  I made some adaptions to the original recipe I found and was not disappointed by the results one bit.2013-06-06 14.24.23Tommy and I both love us some meat, but we did not feel deprived one bit while eating these.  They’re so hearty and full of flavor, you’ll forget they don’t even have meat in them!

First I peeled a large sweet potato and cut it into small cubes.  I drizzled it with olive oil and sprinkled on chili powder, garlic salt, cumin, and red pepper flakes.  I stuck them in the oven at 450 degrees F and let them roast away for about 15 minutes.2013-06-06 13.38.48In the meantime, I sauteed an onion and two garlic cloves until they began to turn golden brown.  Then I added 2 Tablespoons of canned green chili peppers, a can of black beans, drained and rinsed, and the juice of one lime.  I stirred the mixture together and let it continue to saute and build flavor.  I also sprinkled over 1 Tablespoon of a dry salsa mix.  I let it all sizzle away for about 5 minutes while I gathered the rest of my ingredients.2013-06-06 13.37.50Once the potatoes were done roasting and nice and soft, I dumped them in a bowl and mashed them with my potato masher.  I prefer a little chunkiness left in my burrito filling, but if you prefer a smooth texture, you can puree the potatoes in a blender or with your mixer.

2013-06-06 13.40.45Next I added the sauteed mixture and mashed them up a bit too, all the while mixing them in with my sweet potatoes.2013-06-06 13.41.37Now this is where you have to forgive me and trust me. I know it doesn’t exactly look pretty or super appetizing, but I promise, you will not be let down!2013-06-06 13.42.43To assemble, I used large multi-grain tortillas.  Feel free to use any kind of tortilla you prefer.  Scoop two spoons of potato-bean mixture on center of tortilla.  Sprinkle on shredded cheese: however much you desire. Then fold up the ends and roll.  Repeat until you run out.  I got 8 burritos out of my batch {3 of which I put in the freezer for a rainy day},  but depending on the size of your scoop you may get more or less.burritosPlace in lightly sprayed pan. Sprinkle with more cheese, and toss them into the oven at 350 degrees F for about 30 minutes.2013-06-06 13.53.29Top with salsa…and sour cream.  We stuck with just fresh salsa, but load these babies up as much as you want.2013-06-06 14.20.48While these do require a little bit of prep time, they are super easy, healthy, and oh-so-delicious.  As I mentioned already, I stuck a few in the freezer and I already can’t wait to get them out and enjoy this meal again.2013-06-06 14.24.23

Recipe

Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Burritos

{adapted from: homecooking.about.com}

8 large tortillas

1 large sweet potato, peeled and cubed

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon each: chile powder, cumin, garlic salt, red pepper flakes

1 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 Tablespoon olive oil

2 Tablespoons canned green chile peppers, crushed

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 Tablespoon dry salsa mix

Juice of one lime

Shredded Cheese

Fresh Salsa

Roast sweet potatoes at 450 degrees F for about 15 minutes.  Saute onion, garlic, green chilies  and black bean.  Drizzle with lime juice and sprinkle with dry salsa mix.  Let sit until heated through.  

Mash together sweet potatoes and sauteed mixture.

Scoop onto tortillas and sprinkle with cheese.  Roll up burritos and place in lightly greased baking dish. Sprinkle cheese on top.  

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. 

Serve hot, topped with salsa and/or sour cream.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

