Family Fun

The past week and a half has been filled with classroom decorating, birthday celebrating, and family visiting.  I’m not complaining one. single. bit.

To kick off my birthday weekend, Tommy surprised me with a morning in town-out to breakfast, birthday shopping, and lunch. He even went grocery shopping and helped me clean when we got home so that we’d be all ready for a weekend visit from my oldest brother and his family…Not a bad way to start my birthday, if I do say so myself!

Theron, Meagan, and Will arrived late Friday night, but we started off the weekend right with a trip to the Memphis Zoo first thing Saturday morning.  My two-and-a-half year old nephew, Will, is obsessed with zoos and knows all the animal names, so of course he was elated with the trip.  We arrived just in time for a Sea Lion show, then walked around the zoo for a few hours until we had seen just about everything.image_5Will loved the Koalas, and asked to see them the entire time.  image_4Once we finally got to where they were, he was more interested in the statues than the real things! image_3He also was fascinated by the Komodo Dragon, or ‘Giant Lizards’, as he called them. image_2 P.S. He is growing up waaaay to fast!

After church on Sunday, Katie joined us for lunch and brought over my birthday cake-her traditional Strawberry Cake, made from scratch! Her’s is by far THE best Strawberry Cake I’ve ever eaten, and I don’t normally even like Strawberry Cake, or any cake for that matter. Needless to say, she totally rocks it! My sweet nephew serenaded me with the happy birthday song a couple times, and my sister-in-law reminded me that I am now ‘half of a half century old’. {yes, that would mean 25!}

We loved every minute that they were down here, and are looking forward to the next time we get to see them. {Hopefully sooner than later!}

After their visit I spent a couple days working in my classroom before my mom came to visit and help with the fun part.  We had such a good time decorating my room and doing fun little crafty projects to bring color to the room’s atmosphere. By the end of Thursday, the room was as done as it can be for now. {I’m still waiting on some posters to come in, and I imagine there will be some last minute details to add after I attend in-services next week.} imageimage_1So we enjoyed a girls day Friday which included some thrift store shopping, a long walk at the park, coffee date to Starbucks, and a chick flick, 🙂  It was the perfect way to spend her last day down here. I can’t thank her enough for her help and creative ideas.  And the time I got to spend with her is something I cherish, 🙂

Now, as we’re nearing the start of school, I am feeling much more prepared and much less overwhelmed. It’s pretty much down to just detailing my lesson plans, as far as what’s left on my to-do list.  However, those details are just going to have to wait a few more days, because Tommy and I are currently on vacation in Tennessee and North Carolina for one last hoorah before school starts.  I can’t wait to tell you all about it!!!

When we get back, it’ll be a week and half until my class is filled with 6th graders. I couldn’t be more excited…and nervous.  I am so thankful for this opportunity the Lord has placed before me and I can’t wait to travel through another school year and another new experience!  I’ll do my best to keep you all posted along the way! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Family Fun

Leave a Reply

