Photo Dump

Family

Last month I went up to OKC to meet my mom and sister-in-laws for a girls night.  We went out for dinner, then to downtown OKC to watch Wicked.  It was so nice to spend time with the family, have some mother/daughter(s) time, and catch a great show!

20131013-003301.jpgThat same weekend, I also got to spend some time with Theron, Meagan, and Will. Of course we had to have a photo shoot.  I can’t believe Will is going to be a big brother in less than a month! I can’t wait to meet my new nephew!

20131013-003253.jpg

Friends

My OKC weekend wasn’t only filled with family time, but it also included sweet reunions with friends.  I got to see Stephanie for the first time since she’s been back from Russia. I’m so glad she moved back to OKC, giving me an extra excuse to make weekend trips up there!

20131013-003309.jpg

 

And of course it wouldn’t be a trip to OKC without seeing my bestie!   I was thrilled to finally get to meet her precious baby girl, Melody. I can’t believe how quickly she’s growing!! I can’t imagine how fast time will seem to fly when I have my own little one.

20131013-003245.jpg

Just a couple weekends ago, my friend and college teammate, Jessica, came down for a weekend with her boyfriend. We got up early Saturday morning to run in a local 5k. Then we enjoyed catching up the rest of the weekend while Tommy and Dillon bonded out in the field and at the pond.
20131013-003235.jpg

School

We wrap up our first 9-weeks in school this week. I can’t believe how quickly time has gone.  I’m having a great first year, despite the loads of paperwork for evaluations.  The past week or so, we’ve been studying and writing poetry.  The kids are getting exposed to a number of different poems, and trying their hand at each.  They bring me much laughter and entertainment, and I’m continually amazed by the personalities that they express through their writing.  They were especially creative with their Limericks that we wrote as a class.

20131013-003203.jpg

I decided to use their poetry as an easy Fall decoration for the classroom. Because I have very little bulletin board space, I chose to take advantage of the door.  We built a “Poetree” with our Haikus.20131013-003155.jpg

I’ve quickly been awakened to the cruel realities of teaching that they DON’T tell you about in college: Paperwork, State Required Evaluations, and never-ending grading.  I figure they didn’t tell us, because they didn’t want us to find a new profession, 😉
20131013-003814.jpg

In the Kitchen

While Jessica and Dillon were here the other weekend, my friend Brittany came out for supper one evening. We tried our hand at Paleo Pizza.  We used an almond-flour pizza crust mix, topped it with pesto, and loaded it with veggies and cheese (half of which was vegan cheese). We were all pleasantly surprised at how the crust held up. It definitely does not rise up like regular dough, but it was delicious nonetheless.

20131013-003225.jpg

 

I’m not usually an apple crisp fan, but I came across Averie’s single-serving microwave crumble the other day. It looked so good I just had to give it a try.  I whipped some fresh whipping cream and added a drop of salted caramel syrup.  It was the perfect topping!  I might have just become a fan of apple crisp…maybe.
20131013-003838.jpg

Around the Home

It’s beginning to look a lot like Fall around our place!! And I’m not complaining one. single. bit.

20131013-003336.jpg

 

Out in God’s Creation

One of my favorite things about long road trips is watching the sky change.  When I drove to OKC last month, I headed out mid afternoon with a bright sun and blue skies.  Half way through, there was incredible cloud formation.

20131013-003321.jpg

Yesterday, we took a spontaneous trip to the river.  The weather was absolutely beautiful, and the boys especially were hungry for running water. Brittany and I opted NOT to get wet, but the boys enjoyed the rope swing, hanging in the hammock, and fishing.2013-10-13 16.27.18

2013-10-13 17.29.57

 

As you can see, we’ve had a wonderful past month. It’s been filled with friends, family, and lovely weather!  I’m absolutely loving Fall and the vibrant colors and cooler temps that it’s bringing.

Psalm 19:1
The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.

One thought on “Photo Dump

Leave a Reply

