Snow Day

There are so many reasons I am thankful to be living back in the United States.  Yet, some days I think back to two years ago when I was living in Russia. Memories flood my mind and I wish I were back there again.  However, this past Friday I was especially thankful to be home.  Two words: SNOW. DAY.  Living in a state that is not used to constant wintry weather of snow and ice means no school when it comes.  You certainly won’t hear me complaining about a day off. Especially when it cuts my workweek down to only 3 days.

Tommy and I went to Kansas for Thanksgiving. Since he already has Mondays off, I decided to take advantage of my convenience day, and we used Monday as our travel day.  If you do the math, you”ll see that I just had school Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.  Yesssss!!

If you don’t mind, I’ll give you a recap of my week-long Thanksgiving break before I fill you in on my snow day festivities.  {There are so many wonderful perks to being a teacher.  I’d say we deserve every one of them, too!!}

I headed to OKC first thing Saturday morning.  I had a new (but already month-old) nephew to meet,2013-11-24 13.36.48 an almost 3-year old nephew to play with, and a brother and sister-in-law to catch up with.2013-11-28 10.03.01 Not to mention a few other engagements in the plans.

I got into OKC around noon and spent some time with Theron, Meagan, and the boys.  I had a warm welcome of snuggles from some sleepy nephews.2013-11-23 17.16.59Later than night, Meagan and I met up with Emily and headed over to Full Circle Books.  We could not pass up the opportunity to meet The Pioneer Woman!!!2013-11-23 21.09.03The next few days were filled with baby snuggles, sister convos, coffee with my friend, Molly, and lunch with Meredith and Melody.  Of course we had to have a mini ‘play-date’ after lunch so Meagan and Will could meet Melody.  Will especially loved his new friend!2013-11-26 18.09.43Tuesday afternoon Tommy came into OKC, and that evening we all caravanned up to Mom and Dad’s in Kansas.  It was so good to be home. I can’t believe it had been a year since I was last home.  Which also means it’s almost been a year that Tommy and I have been married! My how time flies!2013-11-27 20.57.10Time on the farm was filled with too much delicious food, game time, more baby snuggles, and Thanksgiving Day at my grandparents.  Almost all of us cousins were there, which hasn’t happened in a few years. It was so nice to catch up with everyone, and finally meet my cousin’s sweet boy.  Of course Will loved meeting Jackson as well!! {Can you tell he’s a fan of babies? It’s pretty adorable.}

2013-11-28 14.23.34The time seemed to go way too fast, but not so fast that we couldn’t all pass around a little head cold.  Regardless, I’m so thankful that we got to go home and spend some time with family and friends.2013-11-28 10.12.13After a long drive Monday, we returned to our Arkansas home in time to go to bed and get ready for work the next day.  Three days later, I was home for a snow day.

What did I do on my snow day? Well, it started Thursday night, of course, so we watched Elf, then pulled out our Christmas decorations. We finally got our home feeling and looking like Christmas!2013-12-06 21.49.59Friday I deep cleaned, caught up on the mountains of laundry that accumulated from vacation, created an Advent calendar, and baked some sugar cookies. The only things missing were our stockings, so after sleeping in then enjoying brunch with my husband on Saturday, I got to work.  By the end of the day, I was pleased with the results.2013-12-07 18.25.34Unfortunately the fun had to end eventually, as grading was calling my name.  The thing that keeps me motivated is the fact that in two weeks, I’ll be back home for a long Christmas break.  I can’t believe this school year is already half over!! Whaaat?!

It’s still icy today and many things are canceled =Church at home for us and prayers for another snow day tomorrow!! 🙂

How did you spend your Thanksgiving? Was it followed shortly by a snow day?  I hope your staying safe and warm during this winter holiday season.

 

Leave a Reply

