a first time for everything…{part1}

There are a number of things in my life that I’ve never done or taken part in, and I’m quite okay with them all. I’ve never died my hair, I’ve never had a tattoo. I’ve never eaten escargot, I’ve never been sky diving. Shoot, I’ve never even snow skied, and I’ve never received a speeding ticket. Now, to some of you, this may sound like I live on the safe side…maybe even a boring life. Well, I beg to differ. While I may not live life on the edge, I do like to have fun, and I like adventures.

Some times in my life that I would consider ‘adventurous’ involve running. For example, I ran on some crazy routes and terrain in my college days–killer hills, multiple miles on train tracks, chased by dogs, lost in the middle of Pot. County (Oklahoma), not to mention various types of weather. There’s been 100F +, 40mph wind (if not stronger), rain, hail, snow, sleet, below freezing temps…seriously, I think I’ve been through it all. So, what do my ‘I have nevers’ and running have to do with? We’ll let me tell you, but first may I say: before Saturday, ‘I have never broken a bone’ was part of my list.

I’ve been getting back into running lately and, despite the wintry weather, I’ve been trying to increase my frequency and mileage. After not running at all the first part of the week due to ice, I was ready to get back in my shoes and out on the road. Friday night the roads were clear with a chance of snow over night. When I awoke Saturday morning, I was grateful to see that it had indeed snowed. Finally snow, NOT ice. So I laced up my Mizunos, layered up, and headed out the door.

The snow was soft and powdery and easy to run in. I was running a 2.5 mile loop and was debating whether or not I wanted do run it once or twice. At about 2.25 miles, I came around a declining curve in the road. Someone had graded it, packing down the snow and creating a rather slick surface. I knew things were going to turn out bad if I stayed on the road, so I slowed myself down and started making my way back to the powdery ditch where things would be safer. However, I didn’t make it. My feet slid out from under me and down I went, catching myself with my right hand. Pain immediately shot through my entire arm, and my head felt light.

I crouched down for a moment to gather myself, clutching my hand to my stomach for stability. Adrenaline soon kicked in as I stood and began walking, knowing I had no other way to get home. Before long, a sweet elderly lady pulled up in her car and asked if I was okay. I explained to her what had happened, and she asked if I needed to call someone. I couldn’t remember any phone numbers at the time, so instead asked for a ride. She responded with, “oh sure, okay, I’m just worried about my car being a mess,” as she threw some thing into the back seat…like I cared what her car was like, I just wanted to get home!! Once I got in and told her where I needed to go, she added, “well, I don’t ever stop for men, but you looked alright.” Phew! Glad I passed that test!

Once I got inside the house, all the pain and nausea returned. Eventually, I got comfortable enough to eat a bit and take a pain killer. I was well taken care of from the beginning, thanks to my dear husband and Katie. (Perks of having nurses in the family.) Later that day, I went in to the First Care doctor’s office, and x-rays confirmed that it was indeed broken. My wrist was put into a brace, and I was referred to an orthopedic doctor whom I would see first thing Monday.

20140212-092947.jpg

….so for the first time in my life, I broke a bone. The right radius of this right-handed writing teacher is broken. Isn’t life funny sometimes?

(to be continued…)

Leave a Reply

