a first time for everything…{part 2}

Once I got my brace, my wrist remained stabilized as did my pain. I survived the weekend and when Monday morning came, I headed into town to meet the ortho. I was anxious to find out the extent of my break, and was having high hopes that surgery would be unnecessary.

After many pages to fill out on my medical history, a lengthy wait in the waiting room, and vitals taken by the nurse, I finally met Dr. Mosely. Unfortunately, the friendly, caring man did not give me the news I hoped for. Words like ‘pins’ and ‘plates’ and ‘surgery’ were used. Then, he left saying, “I’ll be back in to write on you, then my scheduling nurse will come talk to you. See you first thing tomorrow morning.” So it was true, I’d be having surgery on this broken wrist of mine, and I had the confirming “yes” to remind me.

20140212-140102.jpg
After being scheduled for surgery and instructed to arrive at 7:00 Tuesday morning, we were sent over to the pre-admissions office to get things squared away and ready to go. Three and a half hours later, (the majority of which was once again spent in the waiting room) we were starving and glad to finally be out of the doctors’ offices. We quickly grabbed a bite to eat then headed to the school so I could get things prepared for my sub for the rest of the week. Side note: I’m so blessed by my sub as she’s a favorite among our students and teachers. It’s comforting to know that my students are in good hands and will be challenged in their learning with her. She gives me daily updates and they’ve been making me so proud with their participation and feedback as they’re beginning our Holocaust Unit. The rest of the afternoon was spent relaxing, watching the Olympics, and getting ready for Tuesday.

Tuesday morning came, and we were out the door as the sun was just beginning to rise. My mom texted me a verse that provided the perfect comfort:
Philippians 4:4-7 4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice.
5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand;
6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.
7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Once we arrived at the hospital, I got all settled in, gowned up, and hooked to an IV. I was ready to knock this surgery out!

20140212-140122.jpg
Around 8:30, a nurse came in and wheeled me down to the pre-op room. Our small group leader, Scott, is a nurse anesthetist at the hospital, so he hooked me up with a couple of warm blankets, then gave me the good stuff.. Soon after, another small group member and NA, Tia, came by to say hi and let me know she was praying for me. They were both surprised to find out later that I remembered this encounter. However, it was the last pre-surgery memory I have.

Next thing I knew, I was waking up, back in my original room, with my husband by my side….and a giant cast on my arm.

20140212-140143.jpg Evidently, I was appalled by the size, and when the nurse came in to bring me water and crackers, I asked her how long it would be this fat?!

The rest of the day was quite a blur. I remember in the moment feeling like I knew what was going on, but when I woke up Wednesday morning, I vaguely remembered my conversations. One thing I do remember clearly is that despite the fact that I had surgery, and despite the fact that I have pins in my wrist, I’ve been surrounded by blessings. I’m so thankful to all of you who have been praying for me, texting me, and calling to check in on me. Family, friends, and our church family here in Jonesboro have been going out of their way to help, and my co-teachers know just the way to brighten a girls day.

20140212-155501.jpg

But the one who has not left my side since this whole mishap took place is my beloved husband. I don’t know what I’d do without his love, assistance, patience, encouragement, and prayers. I’m beyond blessed to have him as my right-hand-man. Literally!

20140212-140221.jpg

…all in all, I guess I can check one more thing off my ‘I have never’ list, and that would be getting pins put in me.

Leave a Reply

