Hellooooo March {+a bunch of random stories}

March has arrived, but the promise of spring seems far off. I’m sure we’re not the only ones who had another bout of winter blow in. I do have a confession though….
About 2 weeks ago, we had a few days of lovely spring weather. It hovered in the 60s and gave us all a glimpse of spring. I loved it!! The next week, temps gradually dropped and I was not enjoying the fact that winter was returning. But then…..when the ice and snow came in this weekend, I kinda liked the thought of winter again. Don’t get me wrong, I’m anxiously awaiting the warmth, but how can you hate winter when it looks like this??

20140304-082813.jpg
We have such a lovely view from our cozy home, and we enjoyed watching the birds and ducks soak up the sun and dance in the snow.

20140304-082824.jpg
Of course along with the inches and inches of white, school is closed for a couple days. It seems we may go all summer long. Ha! But for now I’ll enjoy my days off AND the fact that I’ll have a super short week. Tomorrow I go back to the doctor. I’m so ready to find out what’s going on under this nasty thing!

20140304-082831.jpg
I’m hoping I can at least downsize, but time will tell..

I’ve enjoyed being back with my kids. They’ve been quite concerned about my condition and very curious.
When I first returned to school, I was greeted with sweet notes and poems.

20140304-082839.jpg

They were disappointed that I don’t have a hard cast as many were hoping to sign it. I’m so grateful to have a class full of helpers. They love writing things on the board for me, organizing papers, and passing things out. It sure has saved me a lot of hassle and minimized my left-handed writing. However, this has also led to some naΓ―vetΓ© among a few students. One of which asked me if I would continue to be a lefty once my cast was off. My answer was a quick NO!
In honor of my left handed situation, my students all decided to write their names with their non-dominant hand for a twitter post. I found the results quite amusing. By the way, is it bad that my left-hand writing is still better than some of my students’ regular ‘best’ writing!?!?

I now have a student who has now joined the ‘lefty’ club. He broke his right thumb and was apparently instructed by his doctor to not write with his right hand. I was unaware of this situation until I told the students they would need to get their rough draft peer edited. He raised his hand and said, “Mrs. Dominguez, I don’t think anyone is gonna be able to peer edit mine.” I took one look and said, “I think you’re right.” Ha. Needless to say, he’s been typing assignments on the computer.

Completely unrelated to handwriting handicaps… We’ve been working through a Holocaust unit over the past few weeks. Our main focus was on poems written by prisoners in the Terezin Concentration Camp and their situation. Last week we took a look at the Holocaust from a different perspective-those in hiding. More specifically, we did a mini lesson on Anne Frank and her family, focussing on how Anne’s character changed over the two years they were in hiding. The students then had to write a short responsive essay describing Anne’s character change, and her purpose for writing her diary. As I read their responses over the weekend, I was humored multiple times with what they came up with. One of my personal favorites was, “Anne was like an apple in a basket up in the attic with her family.” I’m still not exactly sure what my student meant by this, but I did commend his use of a simile as we had recently been reviewing figurative language.
Have I told you how much I love my job? And kids? πŸ™‚

One thought on “Hellooooo March {+a bunch of random stories}

Leave a Reply

