17 Weeks recap

Baby is the size of a pomegranate.

Symptoms:

Dry and itchy skin-I feel like I’m constantly putting on lotion.  

Most of my pregnancy I’ve not felt overwhelmingly hungry.  First thing in the morning I am, but the rest of the day is just kind of normal. Off and on I’d have times where I would feel extremely hungry, but then get full super fast.  However, this week I had a few days where I hit what I suppose may be classified as true pregnancy hunger.  I felt like I was eating constantly and could never feel filled up. After a few days though, I’m back to just a normal appetite.

Exercise:

Walking/jogging.  I wasn’t quite as active this week as I’d like to be, but I have also started incorporating some yoga stretching in the mornings.

Food aversions/cravings:

This week I’ve felt most like myself.  I didn’t have any specific foods that I was turned off to, nor did I feel any specific cravings.  I was pretty low maintenance in the food department this week, and I’m a-okay with that!

Sleep:

I’ve felt more energetic and less tired this week.  I’m still taking advantage of any sleep I can get, but not feeling like I need to go to bed at 6 anymore. I still feel like I’m tossing and turning a little more throughout the nights, and as I add pillows for comfort, I keep telling Thomas that we may need a bigger bed. Ha.  I’ve also been having some crazy dreams about the most random things.

Looking forward to:

I have my 18 week appointment in just a couple days.  It sounds like they’ll wait a couple more weeks before scheduling my anatomy ultrasound/gender reveal, so I’ll have to keep practicing patience.  I technically could go now and find out my gender and pay a little out of pocket,  but I figure patience may not be a bad thing to get a little extra practice with before my kiddo arrives. Ha!

Fun stories:

One morning this week, I woke up feeling as though my stomach had maybe shrunk back down a bit. However, once I put my clothes on, I was quickly reminded that I definitely have not shrunk, but am continuing to grow. Loose, long shirts just aren’t near as loose or long anymore.imageWeekly happenings:

Over the weekend, Thomas went hiking/camping with some of his guy friends.  I decided to take advantage of the empty house and did some deep cleaning, work in flower beds, and baking.  How early is too early to begin nesting?!?!

Some days and weeks of teaching are hard..and tiring..and frustrating..and emotional, but my husband always seems to know how to help me relax and clear my mind. Picnics, sunsets, cupcakes, hot apple cider, and fresh fall evenings are things I’ll never turn down.imageimageimageimageimage

Leave a Reply

