36 Weeks

I’m half way through week 36 of this pregnancy. We’ve been busy getting ourselves prepared for our little man’s arrival, but I am by no means counting on an early one! 

 Baby D is the size of a Papaya.  Heโ€™s approximately 19 inches and 6 lbs.

Symptoms:

Less back pain, more tired. Braxton hicks, but not very frequent or intense.

Exercise:

Thomas and I went out for a walk the other day, and between the bathroom breaks and slow pace, our distance according to my hubs was MUCH shorter than I felt like I had covered. Needless to say, my “exercise” is dwindling. However, I’m sure the amount of walking and time spent on my feet throughout the day at school can count for something, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cravings/aversions:

Still strong on the fruit, but my sweet tooth has also managed to slowly creep back a bit lately. Really, my appetite in general has seemed to increase which I’m surprised by due to the lack of room left in my expanding midsection. My desire and energy to cook in the evenings seems to also be decreasing. I still try to plan our meals each week, but do good to actually do the cooking once or twice a week. Thankfully, I have a very gracious husband who has willingly taken over so we still get fed. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sleep:

I will continue to have no complaints in this department. I can only hope that it lasts throughout the rest of my pregnancy, and maybe, just maybe, our little guy will take after us in our sleep patterns. Yet, I’ll be careful not to get my hopes up. Ha!

Movement:

The movements are getting tighter, a little more strained, but still so so fun and special to feel. Sometimes they are a bit uncomfortable, but I can’t help but smile in amazement of this little life God’s created inside of me.

Appointment recap:

I went in on Wednesday for my 36 week appointment. Things were pretty quick and easy once again, just the typical routine-weight, bp, babe’s heart rate (in the 130s), belly measure (right at 36 weeks), etc. In addition, I received my Group B Strep swab and got my TDap shot. Starting next week, my doctor will begin measuring my cervix. It’s getting more and more real!!!

Weekly happenings:

This was a full week focussed on our little man. I guess technically we should start back at last weekend as we went to a birthing class. The schedule said it was supposed to last from 8:30-2:00, so my husband wasn’t overly thrilled. However, it ended up only being 3 hours, and was full of helpful information on what to expect during labor and delivery. The information we learned helped answer many of my questions, and it put me at a bit of ease as we near the big day.

My coworkers threw me a shower on Monday and hooked us up with some more goods. (Not to leave out the ‘specialized’ fruit tray with grapefruit!!!!) I’m so grateful to have such wonderful colleagues and love the excitement they share with me.  

   
We then ordered a few other essentials to finish out our nursery, and just basic things we will want to make sure and have on hand immediately when Baby D does come. (Nursery pics will be revealed before too long!)

Tuesday evening, we went to another birthing seminar with a couple of our friends who are also expecting. There were different booths to inform us on child safety, carseat installation, diaper changing (Thomas proved to be a natural), door prizes, and a photo booth. We also got to tour the hospital and see where the delivery floor is and what the rooms look like, as well as the postpartum floor. Again, I was put at ease with this information and reassurance, and it just makes me feel all the more ready/excited to meet our little guy!! 

 As we were wrapping things up in our nursery, we decided to get a few things gathered together for the hospital bag, and my husband took the initiative to install the carseat 

Needless to say, both of us are overflowing with excitement, and like I said, we’re trying to be as prepared as possible in case we get to meet our son early, but I’m certainly not banking on it. At this point, I just don’t feel like he’s coming any time too soon.

Leave a Reply

