Silas Graham

 One week ago today, we got to finally meet, hold, kiss, and love on our sweet boy.  March 12, at 5:01 pm, our 8 lb. 20 inch Silas Graham entered the world. As I sit here trying to think what to type, I find myself speechless. No words can express the amount of love I have for my son. My heart is so full as I sit and stare at him daily.  I hope I never forget these precious days with my newborn.

Going in, I didn’t have a super specific birth plan, but knew a few things I did want. I planned to have a vaginal delivery, I knew I wanted an epidural, and I wanted skin-to-skin and to be able to nurse him ASAP.  But overall, I just wanted to meet the sweet babe and prayed he was healthy.  After about 7 hours of laboring  with strong, consistent contractions, I quit progressing at 4-4.5 cm. Silas wasn’t dropping, so my doctor said we needed to consider other options if nothing changed in the next hour.  C-section was certainly not what I had planned, but by this point, I was ready to hold my little guy. I appreciated my doctor’s approach, as he left it completely up to me, not wanting me to feel like it was something I was being forced to do.  After another hour of no progression, Thomas and I felt at peace with our decision, and preparation was soon underway for a section.  I made sure my nurse once again knew my request of skin to skin and nursing, and she was completely on board.  Again, I felt at peace with this decision.  Within 15 minutes of being in the OR, we heard our son’s first cries.  I was overwhelmed with relief knowing he was safe and healthy.  After a few minutes on the warmer, and his measurements taken, he was safe in my arms.  It wasn’t long after that, I was all cleaned up and we were back in our room nursing him.  Overall, I couldn’t ask for a better experience, despite the change in plans. 

  This week has been a wonderful, magical, tiring experience, and I wouldn’t change a thing.  Thomas has not only been the most supportive husband through it all, he’s naturally transitioned into being the best dad a boy could ask for. I absolutely love watching them interact with each other, and can’t wait to build so many memories together. 

    
  Our sweet Silas has made this transition pretty easy for us so far. He’s a good eater, good sleeper, healthy, chill little dude.  I couldn’t be more delighted to be his mama, and am grateful to God for this sweet blessing.  I might be a little biased, but he’s the most beautifully handsome babe I know.  

 

2 thoughts on “Silas Graham

  1. My plan wasn’t a c-section either but after 20 hours of labor, I was done. Little boys are special to Mommies. I have a 5 month old grandson and got to keep him and his 3 yr old brother two days this week. I cherish the time and cuddling. So happy for you!

Leave a Reply

