Silas: 2 months

 Weight: 12 lbs. 10 oz.
Height: 22.5 in.
Health: 

Silas is a healthy, growing boy. He is strong and has good head control. When I eat a lot of dairy, it seems to bother and upset Silas’s tummy, so I’m doing my best to limit my dairy intake. This morning Silas received his first round of vaccines and was such a trooper.  So far he seems to be feeling fine and has been happily playing and jabbering on his play mat. 

Eating:

Silas loves to eat and doesn’t shy from letting us know when he’s hungry.  He’s still eating every 3 hours during the day, but tends to cluster feed in the evenings. (5:30, 7:30, 8:45/9). I’m hoping to wean him from that middle feed, and then bump his last feed to 8:30 over the next few weeks. 

When we traveled to OKC, I exclusively breastfed so we wouldn’t have to mess with packing and cleaning bottles.  Somehow when we got back home, we never really picked back up on the daily bottle feeds. A few days ago, I was needing a break and Tommy offered to take over an evening feed.  Little did we know our little mister had become quite partial to his milk source.  We’ve since made sure to include a daily bottle feed at 5:30 while I cook supper, and thankfully he’s becoming a little more accepting of it.  

Sleeping:

Soon after Silas hit 1 month, his 2 am feed became a fairly consistent 3 or 4 am feed.  I certainly didn’t mind the longer stretch. We still had some random nights where he’d decide to throw in a midnight snack, and my least favorite night when we were up at midnight, 4, 5, and 7. However, my sweet boy gave me the best Mother’s Day present ever by sleeping from 9:30-6.  I thanked him a million times and showered him with lots of extra kisses.  We slept through the night 3 nights in a row, but the past two nights, we’ve brought back a 3 am snack. We’ll see how his shots effect his sleep tonight.  

Silas has been consistent with his nap time schedule, but location of naps has not been consistent. While his flexibility has been nice, I want him to get used to his crib. Over the last week or so, I’ve been more consistent with crib naps.  As we’ve worked on crib naps, we’ve also been working on letting Silas put himself to sleep.  Once he’s asleep, he has had a pretty stellar sensor for when 30-45 minutes has passed and wakes up. every. time. Naps are then usually finished in the mamaroo to get a total of 1-1.5 hours in.  I’m hoping if we just keep working on crib naps, Silas will eventually get the hang of it and snooze away easily through his whole nap time. 

Likes: 

wrapped in the Solly, playing on his play mat, being read to, walks in his stroller, outside, tummy time in small doses, being held and walked around, bath time, jabbering in the mornings, listening to dad play piano

Dislikes:

Being awake in his mamaroo–too boring? (but sleeps in it great!), paci, when mom eats dairy, sleeping unswaddled 

Fun things we did:

First road trip to OKC-met cousins, aunts and uncles, and great grandparents, cousin trip to Memphis zoo, welcomed twin cousins, watched lots of soccer with dad, celebrated our first Mother’s Day. 

Looking forward to:

Family vacation over Memorial Day weekend, talking and smiling more.

Mom:

Physically- I’ve been feeling great and not overly sleep deprived.  Since getting the official ‘OK’ at my 6 week follow up appointment, I’ve been incorporating some yoga to rebuild my core as well as starting to run jog again mixed into my walks.  I’m definitely out of shape, but feel better than I expected. I’m trying to slowly build back up, and overall, enjoy getting out to exercise before the summer heat kicks in. 
Emotionally- Each day I feel like my hormones and emotions are becoming a little more stable. Yet, there are still days that I find myself more easily overwhelmed. I’m coming to terms with the fact that I can’t ‘do it all’ and know it’ll only get harder when I go back to school in the fall.  I’m trying to cherish everyday at home with my little love, and steal all the snuggles I can get.  As is probably typical for any honest, human mama, I have some days where I feel like things are going great and I’m really getting the hang of things, and other days that I’m questioning our routine, schedule, naps, etc., etc., and wondering if I’m screwing us over in the long run. Ha.  But overall, I’m trying to be flexible and pray daily that I’d be filled with patience and grace for both myself and Silas. I love being Silas’s mom and feel so blessed that God has given me this opportunity and such a sweet son.

This month in pictures: 

🔹Breakfast and snuggles with Aunt Katie and Cousin Isaac before OKC road trip. 

 🔹Roadtrip to OKC. Silas traveled great and was thoroughly loved on by his cousins, aunts, uncles, Pops and Mema, and Grammy and Granddad Baker. 

    
    
 🔹Adventures in tummytime/playtime. 

      
   🔹Lifegroup babes 

   🔹Dad’s mini-me 

   🔹Memphis Zoo 
    
 🔹Cousin love- 6 weeks apart

 🔹Sweet, smiley Silas 

      
   

Leave a Reply

